Author Topic: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3  (Read 16197 times)

doc

  • Guest
Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« on: April 06, 2008, 05:04:49 PM »
Hello,

as some of you have found some bugs in the 2nd WB 2.7 release candidate, we decided to isssue a third (and hopefully last) release candidate. The testing period will be limited to about 1-2 weeks from now. If no serious bugs are reported in that time, we will release the final WB 2.7 version mid/end of April 2008.

Changes introduced since RC2:
Legend: # Bugfix, + new feature, ! Update
# fixed issue with the menu link module (child pages did not display in the list)
# fixed issue with long search times for large websites
# fixed issue with JS encryption in output-filter module
# fixed issue with the edit CSS module functions (now part of the WB core)
# fixed bug in user registration
# fixed bug with template parser class (errors: block variable not set)

! allowed character - in database names
! reworked Form module to create valid markup (removed Javascript code)
! fixed some layout issues of the Captcha module
! fixed some typos in the WB language files

You can download the WB 2.7 RC3 from the WebsiteBaker start site.

IMPORTANT:
Please do not use the RC3 version in a productive environment. This version is for testing on a test environment like XAMPP only. If you are already using WB 2.7 RC1/RC2, you can update to RC3 by copying all files contained in the WB 2.7 RC3 package (except config.php) over the existing RC1/2 installation.

This thread is only for feedback with respect to RC3 and to report bugs. We will not add any new features, so please no feature requests in this thread.

NOTE:
As before, we will comment your posts, whenever we think it make sense. We will not modify your original text, but may add comments in brown font color. The author will be named in brackets e.g. (doc).

Have fun with testing WB 2.7 RC3
Regards Christian
« Last Edit: April 06, 2008, 07:29:59 PM by doc »

Offline VSG

  • Posts: 238
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2008, 07:13:12 PM »
Hi!

Just did a test-upgrade of my existing 2.6.7 in the XAMPP-environment and everything works flawlessly.
Search is faster than with RC2 (thanks to thorn who put a lot of work in this), the overall feel is smoother, faster and not to mention the FCKEditor works like a charm now with big websites :).

Since no one replied to FruitBatInShades post here ...
I tried the & -character with RC3 and it works in the menu-display as well.

Thanks WebsiteBaker-Team, RC3 has made my Sunday and I'm looking forward to 2.7 final so I can finally publish my overhauled website :).

Best regards,
VSG

Offline shlack

  • Posts: 25
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2008, 08:42:13 PM »
Since no one replied to FruitBatInShades post here ...
I tried the & -character with RC3 and it works in the menu-display as well.


Yes, '&' works in menu names, but in pages names we have:

for 'Questions & answers'  - 'questions-_-answers.php'
for 'My "test site"' - my-_test-site_.php
Simply change the page title of the page into "questions and answers" while keeping the menu title "questions & answers". This gives the URL /pages/questions-and-answers.php (doc)

Is it possible not to use underscore for special chars replacement in page names?
For example we can use 'and' instead of '&', simply remove " etc...
« Last Edit: April 06, 2008, 09:23:42 PM by doc »

doc

  • Guest
Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3a
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2008, 06:52:43 AM »
Hello,

this is to inform you that we have just replaced WB 2.7 RC3 by WB 2.7 RC3a.

The changes with respect to WB 2.7 RC3 are:
! upgrade of the integrated FCKEditor from v2.51 to v2.60
! replaced the PHP5 function stripos used in the installation script with the PHP4 functions strpos and strtolower
! added a missing DB field when adding a new user

If you are already running a WB 2.7 RC1/RC2/RC3, simply download the WB 2.7 RC3a from the WB project site and upload all files contained in the ZIP package except config.php over your existing installation.

Regards Christian

Offline Hans

  • Posts: 912
  • Gender: Male
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2008, 11:02:22 PM »
- Can't make an internal (WB) link from an image. FCK editor keeps telling i have to make a selection first. External links work fine.
This happens with earlier versions of WB and FCKEditor also some times. Seems to be FCKEditor issue. as far as i know only happens with IE.(ruebenwurzel)
- At least in Firefox there are no tooltips with the FCK editor icons
On WinXP, FF 2.0.0.13 and WB 2.7 RC3a, tool tips are correctly displayed (doc)

I have tried many other things and all work fine. Great work! Thanks a lot!
Hans
« Last Edit: April 09, 2008, 08:01:41 PM by doc »
Hans - Nijmegen - The Netherlands

Offline Luckyluke

  • Posts: 556
  • Gender: Male
  • Let's Rock
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2008, 11:37:51 AM »
- Can't make an internal (WB) link from an image. FCK editor keeps telling i have to make a selection first. External links work fine.
This happens with earlier versions of WB and FCKEditor also some times. Seems to be FCKEditor issue. as far as i know only happens with IE.(ruebenwurzel)
Hans

Hoi,
This also happens with firefox! I use a workaround: first, I type something before and after the image. Then I select this 3 items. The image is selected together with the items you typed before and after. At this point you can make an internal link to a WB page. After this selection, delete the 2 characters before and after the image. There is a possibility that you have to work in HTML-mode for this.
Luc

Offline VSG

  • Posts: 238
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2008, 09:37:02 PM »
Did a quick test with RC3a - everything seems to work. Adding sites, manipulating content, reloading add-ons, internal WB-links in text.

Since I haven't been using FCKEditor before (used HTMLArea) I was wondering: does FCKEditor have a status-bar as well? HTMLArea had a status bar telling you what tags were open - sometimes comes in handy. Does anyone know about the feature with FCKEditor? This feature is not integrated as far as I know. There might be a Plugin which adds this function. Good source is the FCK website and Sourgeforge. (doc)


Thanks!
Best regards,
VSG
« Last Edit: April 09, 2008, 11:03:09 PM by doc »

Beppi

  • Guest
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2008, 01:43:48 AM »
Hello.
I'm sorry to bother you with the search/cgi problem again.
I just updated to RC3a and there's no change.
The provider did what he could but the only solution to the CGI error (The specified CGI application misbehaved by not returning a complete set of HTTP headers.) was use the 2.6.7 search directory.
BTW, Aruba is one of the largest hosting providers in Italy and I don't exclude that the same problem could arise also with other providers.

First of all I ask if there is anyone that has his own IIS and can tell me what configuration is used, if there is any parameter that could be more important then others.

Then, I suggest the developers to adjust and keep the old (2.6.7) search code, as an optional alternative for people that may have the same problems I currently have. As explained, now the 2.6.7 version works well, except for the fact that it includes the string "[EXCERPT]" at every line: if that could be removed it would just be enough.

Thank you very much.

Offline jorag

  • Posts: 5
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2008, 03:20:12 AM »
Hello,

WB 2.7 RC3a
there is a group bug:
1 group / 1 user with only permission for one Rootpage.
The user can make changes, but not create a new subpage!

Sorry, my english...


Johannes

Offline VSG

  • Posts: 238
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2008, 05:22:16 AM »
except for the fact that it includes the string "[EXCERPT]" at every line: if that could be removed it would just be enough.

If you don't want the excerpts simply rename the file "search.php" in the folders "modules/form", "modules/news" and "modules/wysiwyg" (for example rename it to "search.notused". Doing so will exclude the excerpts from the search-results.
You can also remove the [EXCERPT]-string in the admin-panel when configuring the search-results-page.

But by renaming the files in the three folders the search-excerpts will certainly not be displayed, plus on large websites, the search works faster. If you remove the [EXCERPT]-string the excerpt-results will be gathered anyway but not displayed. Try renaming the files, this way the excerpt-results can't be gathered.

Best regards,
VSG
« Last Edit: April 10, 2008, 05:24:39 AM by VSG »

Offline sporrencense

  • Posts: 34
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2008, 11:42:45 PM »
Congratulations on some excellent new features.

I have seen in the page code of admin > groups > group_form.php that there is a section of the form set aside for controlling group level access to the individual admin tools but as yet nothing is there that actually allows us to do it. Is this still under development?

I personally think it would be really useful to be able to specify at group level what admin tools can be used and what can't as only some of the tools are relevant to clients and some of them are not.
With WB 2.7 we simply moved the Admin tools from settings to section Admin tools. Setting access rights for individual admin tools may come with a next release of WB, definitelly not with WB 2.7. (doc)

Just a thought
« Last Edit: April 11, 2008, 12:03:16 AM by doc »

Offline avde

  • Posts: 26
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #11 on: April 14, 2008, 01:20:19 PM »
Hey!

I just found out that the Output filter for mail scrambling isn't working if the page has a WYSIWYG section and a contact Form section below.
I suspect this is because it would scramble the form mail data also, right?
Yes, thats right. Per default, the form module disables the output_filter for the page the form module is used (including all sections like WYSIWYG etc.). If you comment out line 240 in view.php of the form module, the output filter works. This means mail addresses entered in the form module will be converte into mail(at)test(dot).com. However, those mail addresses will be accepted and automatically converted before sending out. It is up to you to choose one of this two options (doc)

Is there any solution to keep the mail scrambled and keep both sections on one page, or must I create two separate pages, one for the contact data and one for the contact form?

Greets!
« Last Edit: April 14, 2008, 07:51:06 PM by doc »

Offline oeh

  • Posts: 190
  • Gender: Male
  • German Pischer's, what's life without them?
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #12 on: April 14, 2008, 02:01:25 PM »
Hi.

I'm having problems getting the calendar, in page admin, to work?
When clicking the calendar button it doe's not pop up?
What browser and operating system are you using? Try Firefox with enabled Javascript (doc)

Whats wrong? Regards
OEH
« Last Edit: April 14, 2008, 04:05:54 PM by doc »
oeh ;-}>

heth

  • Guest
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #13 on: April 15, 2008, 06:14:08 PM »
how long does the time out on excessive logins last?
Clear browser cache and cookies and you can login again (doc)

did fresh installation yesterday, worked a treat
did upgrade today. Initially it didn't list any pages. Then after logging out and back in, the list of pages appeared. Tried modifying a page and now have no editor or content showing.

I have had problems recently with 2.6.7 updating so that bit may not be due to the upgrade
As far as i know did you use IIS instead of Apache. All Wb versions are not written to work with IIS (ruebenwurzel)
« Last Edit: April 16, 2008, 03:06:54 PM by ruebenwurzel »

cahva

  • Guest
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #14 on: April 16, 2008, 02:03:40 PM »
Hi.

I'm having problems getting the calendar, in page admin, to work?
When clicking the calendar button it doe's not pop up?
What browser and operating system are you using? Try Firefox with enabled Javascript (doc)

Whats wrong? Regards
OEH

Hi,

This problem occurs on other languages other than english so its not an browser issue.

Firebug gives this error:
weekend has no properties
http://xxxxxxxxxxxx/wb/include/jscalendar/calendar.js
Line 1534


EDIT:

I figured it out. I use Finnish and there were couple of variables missing in jscalendar's language file:

Calendar._TT["DAY_FIRST"] = "Display %s first";
Calendar._TT["WEEKEND"] = "0,6";

So if anyone has the same problem, just check that theres the same variables in your language file.
Checked all files of the 2.7 package. The following languages are affected by this bug: PL, HR, NO, FI, TR and RU. As the encoding of the RU file is UTF8 not ANSI, it breaks the entire layout of the page section settings. Thanks for reporting (doc)
« Last Edit: April 16, 2008, 07:12:26 PM by doc »

brofield

  • Guest
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #15 on: April 18, 2008, 10:49:34 AM »
It is possible to install and update wordpress direct from subversion.
http://codex.wordpress.org/Installing/Updating_WordPress_with_Subversion

I find this an incredibly convenient way of keeping up to date - no bothering with FTP servers and file copies and worrying about which files are modified, etc.

Is this also possible with WB 2.7?
No this feature is planned for WB 3.0, not for the WB 2.x trunc (doc)
« Last Edit: April 18, 2008, 06:43:30 PM by doc »

brofield

  • Guest
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #16 on: April 18, 2008, 11:26:45 AM »
wb2.7rc3 install failed. This was a clean install, with a new database
created just for the install. all the errors occurred with running the
install.php script.

database name jellycan_wb27

table prefix wb27, error on executing install.php
Table 'jellycan_wb27.wb27m od_captcha_control' doesn't exist

table prefix wb27_, error on executing install.php
Table 'jellycan_wb27.wb27_ mod_captcha_control ' doesn't exist

table prefix nothing, error on executing install.php
Table 'jellycan_wb27.mod_c aptcha_control' doesn't exist

in all cases the 'install tables' checkbox is ticked
in all cases, many other tables were created in the database

anyone seen this before?

B
can you try it with another table prefix without ".". Only allowed are [a-zA-Z0-9_] (ruebenwurzel)

Can you please provide some information about your webserver, MySQL version etc., as we haven´t seen this error before (about 7000 downloads), thanks (doc)
« Last Edit: April 19, 2008, 11:19:54 AM by doc »

Offline VSG

  • Posts: 238
News with wrong timestamps
« Reply #17 on: April 21, 2008, 01:29:10 PM »
Still eagerly anticipating v2.7 I downloaded the up-to-date-trunk Rev 833 and "upgraded" my RC3a-test-installation.

When making a few tests I came across a strange behaviour that I believe is not 2.7-specific but also apparent in 2.6.7.
I can't control the server-clock, but I set WBs timezone to GMT+2 (being it summertime currently).

Then I tried a news-post with start-date and end-date.
It was here 12:50 when I posted the news with start-date 13:00 and end-date 13:15.

The news appeared at 13:00 but showed the timestamp 10:50 (the time I wrote the news without the GMT+2).
It disapperead again at 13:15 - when I reactivated it at 13:20 without an end-date the news-timestamp showed 11:20 (although in the news itself the start-date was set to 13:00).
I believe not the begin-date itself is displayed when watching a news-entry, but the "last modified"-date.

Wouldn't it be more practical for news in general to auto-insert the "now"-time as default-start-date (instead of midnight) and using this as the timestamp when displaying news?

News takes the time from the time wich is set in your personal preferences and not from the settings in the options of WB. So check your personal preferences if timezone is set there correct. (ruebenwurzel)

Just a thought.
I hope development of 2.7 is coming along nicely ... and of course I wonder whether a new release-date has been set.

Thanks for all your hard work!
Best regards,
VSG

PS: I tried here on my local xampp and attempted to trick WB-install into accepting "." or " " or anything as a database-prefix. Didn't work. Can't reproduce brofields bug. Sorry.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2008, 03:20:57 PM by ruebenwurzel »

Offline VSG

  • Posts: 238
Re: News with wrong timestamps
« Reply #18 on: April 21, 2008, 03:41:30 PM »
Quote
News takes the time from the time wich is set in your personal preferences and not from the settings in the options of WB. So check your personal preferences if timezone is set there correct. (ruebenwurzel)

My bad, thanks - corrected.
However, when I define a specific start-time for a news-entry it is that time that should be shown when the news is published. And not the time I wrote the news. Otherwise it's just confusing.

you can change the date wich appears in the frontend in the options of the news modul. But per default the start time should be the same as the published time. (ruebenwurzel)

For example you're visiting a website where a "news" is posted as new now that was written two days ago (and is dated that way) although it wasn't there yesterday.

Or am I the only one who thinks so?
Best regards,
VSG
« Last Edit: April 21, 2008, 03:54:54 PM by ruebenwurzel »

brofield

  • Guest
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #19 on: April 21, 2008, 03:58:21 PM »
table prefix "wb27", error on executing install.php
table prefix "wb27_", error on executing install.php
table prefix "nothing", error on executing install.php

All prefixes tried are valid. The period is present in the error message as the database name. e.g. database.table = jellycan_wb27.table

Can you please provide some information about your webserver, MySQL version etc., as we haven´t seen this error before (about 7000 downloads), thanks (doc)

php info: http://jellycan.com/etc/info.php
mysql Server version: 4.1.22-standard-log

Will try it all again from scratch.

B

Offline VSG

  • Posts: 238
Re: News with wrong timestamps
« Reply #20 on: April 21, 2008, 04:40:06 PM »
Quote
you can change the date wich appears in the frontend in the options of the news modul. But per default the start time should be the same as the published time. (ruebenwurzel)

Maybe I'm just too blind to see it ... whenever I try to change "MODI_TIME" or "MODI_DATE" I get nothing as a result.
Seems the variables "POST_TIME" and "POST_DATE" or even "PUBL_TIME" are not definded ... "PUBL_DATE" exists though.

Aah you are right, try it with [PUBLISHED_DATE] at this place. I know, not really logical and a issue wich should be fixed in a common version. (ruebenwurzel)

I might be looking in the wrong places - any help appreciated.
Best regards,
VSG
« Last Edit: April 21, 2008, 05:40:22 PM by ruebenwurzel »

Offline jorag

  • Posts: 5
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #21 on: April 21, 2008, 05:57:37 PM »
Hello,

WB 2.7 RC3a there is a group bug:
1 group / 1 user with only permission for one Rootpage.
The user can make changes, but not create a new subpage!

Johannes
This bug was already reported and should be fixed with Changeset 825 which will be integrated into the final WB 2.7. (doc)
« Last Edit: April 21, 2008, 06:11:24 PM by doc »

brofield

  • Guest
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #22 on: April 22, 2008, 02:40:11 AM »
Something must have been wrong in the file FTP (although there were no errors). Starting all again gets the database installed and to the login prompt.

From tracing another problem that I had, however I see that the password is sent in plaintext. Although the "smart_login" stuff changes the name of the field this is rather useless as it is still easy to see the plaintext password. Logins should be done using a CHAP system to ensure that plaintext passwords are not sent over the network. This is not hard. See http://pajhome.org.uk/crypt/md5/auth.html for details.
Thanks for feedback. Definitelly too late for WB 2.7, but we should keep in mind for possible next releases (doc)
« Last Edit: April 22, 2008, 06:52:35 AM by doc »

mickpage

  • Guest
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #23 on: April 22, 2008, 01:31:32 PM »
As the first post (6 Apr) states: "The testing period will be limited to about 1-2 weeks from now" - are we now not overdue for RC4 or final release? :?
We will release WB 2.7 within the next few days. Once WB 2.7 is released, we will close this thread(doc)
« Last Edit: April 22, 2008, 01:36:28 PM by doc »

Offline shlack

  • Posts: 25
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC3
« Reply #24 on: April 24, 2008, 12:08:21 AM »
As the first post (6 Apr) states: "The testing period will be limited to about 1-2 weeks from now" - are we now not overdue for RC4 or final release? :?
We will release WB 2.7 within the next few days. Once WB 2.7 is released, we will close this thread(doc)

Captcha field in a form module (and I suppose in news comments too) doesn't have own class name. It would be nice to have this class as we have classes like .textfield, .email etc.
We just need to add it in view.php and front-end.css, not so big impact...
Already too late for WB 2.7 even if it is not a big tasks, maybe something for a next version (doc)

Thanks.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2008, 07:41:00 AM by doc »

 

postern-length