Author Topic: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1  (Read 20553 times)

Offline marccouture

  • Posts: 219
  • Gender: Male
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #25 on: March 02, 2008, 10:55:42 PM »
Hi rueben,

No problem, it was a "test" site that I could play with.  Nothing better to get an idea of how to update live sites later on!
Marc C.

Offline mathetos

  • Posts: 93
  • Gender: Male
  • i bake and shake... shake 'n bake WB
    • IFPdesigns.com
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #26 on: March 04, 2008, 12:30:34 AM »
I really like everything I see. The captcha as a site-wide secure addition is AMAZING. That was a huge problem for me before.

I have one suggestions which I've always desired for WB and it's not incredibly difficult.

EXAMPLE 1:
problem: I have 4 content areas on my template, I call them "header" "red" "tan" and "footer". They are each seperate content areas so the customer can customize their site. When they want to do this they hit edit and have to load a page with 4 FCKeditors! This takes a long time to load, slowing down their total editing time.

suggestion: be able to go from the "manage sections" page directly to the one section you would like to change. The top of that page would clearly label what is being edited, like: Page - Home; Section - "Header".

EXAMPLE 2:
problem: Same template as above, but, because each section looks identical when editing, they never know exactly which box they are editing. They might go and add a bunch of content to "red" when they really wanted it in "tan".

suggestion: add a label for each section so that it is obvious which FCK editor (or module) belongs to which section of the page. Hopefully, this info can easily be pulled from the info.php file of the template. Of course, if suggestion 1 is applied then this suggestion is irrelevant.

EXAMPLE 3:
problem: If suggestion one isn't applied, but 2 is, then we have a page with 4 FCKeditors each with a save button beneath them. If I need to make a change to each section, then I need to reload this entire page 4 times! This is a real time-waster.

suggestion: Is it possible to put one button at the very bottom (or top) of the page that says "Save All Sections"?

Overall, either break the sections of the pages out to be edited individually, or add labels for each section so they are clearly identifiable and add a "Save All Sections" button.

That's my 2 cents.

thanks for your ideas. But this thread here is only thought for testing 2.7RC1 and postzing possible bugs. Your questions are questions for additional features. Feature freeze for 2.7 was 01.02.08. so this will definetely not be part of WB 2.7, maybe in 2.7x or 2.8. (ruebenwurzel)

Understood! Feel free to move this post to the appropriate forum or delete if necessary.(mathetos)
« Last Edit: March 07, 2008, 12:26:13 AM by mathetos »

mav1420

  • Guest
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #27 on: March 04, 2008, 12:49:01 AM »
not sure if this is strictly a bug but more of a feature implication, when i read about the page name changes i'd assumed it meant my nice search engine optimised page titles weren't going to destroy the usability of the admin area, however on closer inspection the result is my page titles (one of the most important seo techniques) are now translated as completely unusable urls. For example

My Shop - Selling all good shop things like hats, gloves and scarfs in the UK

That page title in a browser would be perfectly acceptable and search engine friendly. However results in the url

www.myshop.co.uk/My-Shop-Selling-all-good-shop-things-like-hats-gloves-and-scarfs-in-the-UK.php

Surely the menu title is more appropriate for the actual file name title as it's likely to be much shorter and to the point, in this case

'Home' equals 'www.myshop.co.uk/home.php'

All in all I love the new changes and bug fixes elsewhere, comments and captcha specifically, but this 'feature' is a really big problem I think, I'll definitely have to change it on every 2.7 site i do.

Sorry if this is in the wrong place btw and feel free to move it! :)

gavjof

  • Guest
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #28 on: March 06, 2008, 06:32:49 PM »
Just had a quick install, so I've not had too much of a play.

I think the admin looks fine, and I love all the little features that have been added. In particular the Admin-Tools and the Multiple User Group access.

One thing, seeing how your improving the user group access - could you please consider changing the user selection method? The current drop-down method is fine when you have a small number of users but larger sites with multiple groups and users make this method tedious.

I really liked the userstats mod, the way it displayed all users in a tabular format.
Something like this would be a great option.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2008, 10:18:01 AM by gavjof »

Offline shlack

  • Posts: 25
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #29 on: March 07, 2008, 01:29:15 AM »
not sure if this is strictly a bug but more of a feature implication, when i read about the page name changes i'd assumed it meant my nice search engine optimised page titles weren't going to destroy the usability of the admin area, however on closer inspection the result is my page titles (one of the most important seo techniques) are now translated as completely unusable urls. For example

My Shop - Selling all good shop things like hats, gloves and scarfs in the UK

That page title in a browser would be perfectly acceptable and search engine friendly. However results in the url

www.myshop.co.uk/My-Shop-Selling-all-good-shop-things-like-hats-gloves-and-scarfs-in-the-UK.php

Surely the menu title is more appropriate for the actual file name title as it's likely to be much shorter and to the point, in this case

'Home' equals 'www.myshop.co.uk/home.php'

All in all I love the new changes and bug fixes elsewhere, comments and captcha specifically, but this 'feature' is a really big problem I think, I'll definitely have to change it on every 2.7 site i do.

Sorry if this is in the wrong place btw and feel free to move it! :)

I agree, it is not a good idea to use page title as page name. Most people use long titles with keywords for SEO but page names look bad in that case, especially if site language is not English. I suppose the best solution is to have separate fields for title, menu title and page name.
Defenitely too late for WB 2.7. Maybe this becomes available in 2.8 or 3.0 (doc) 
« Last Edit: March 07, 2008, 07:08:05 AM by doc »

Offline Bramus

  • Posts: 608
  • Gender: Male
    • BRAMUS Internet Services
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #30 on: March 09, 2008, 08:56:41 PM »
Hope i'm not too late with this, but the javascript (drag and drop for pages) could this also be done for the FORM module? I think it comes in very handy if you have to move something in the FORM. If you made a Contact page with about 10 textfields, and you have to move Adress 2 or something to the 3th place, then you are busy for about 4mins, with the drag and drop javascript it is a bit easier.
Hello, we will not add any new features for 2.7 just fixing bugs. This may make its way in one of the next versions (doc)

Hope it is easy to make this, and i think it is a great addition!

Good luck with the Final of 2.7 :)
« Last Edit: March 10, 2008, 09:35:54 AM by doc »
BRAMUS Internet Services

Offline Ruud

  • Posts: 3649
  • Gender: Male
  • Do not use PM for help! Please use the forum!
    • Dev4Me - Professional WebsiteBaker Development
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #31 on: March 09, 2008, 11:03:48 PM »
First of all.. Great job done guys.
Installed on my test system without any serious problems.

The only hickup I had was caused by the fact that I always call my database something like wb-sitename. And there are no "-" characters allowed anymore.
I have already read something about that issue, and it is no problem for me.

I had one thing you could call a small "bug".
The fckeditor include.php is loading ../../config.php.
I am using the wysiwyg_edit module frequently. But loading the editor in the frontend, config.php has a different location. The better way (at least for me) is to change line 37 in:
Code: [Select]
require_once(WB_PATH. '/config.php'); This way it will always work correctly.

I can't wait for RC2.

Again, good job. WB is alive!!

Ruud

Offline Olli

  • Posts: 291
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #32 on: March 10, 2008, 02:50:41 PM »
I have been creating and saving pages a lot, but often the page is not saved.
More specific while editing text an inserting images.
Also after saving the real website is returned.
I am testing on xampp.

same here unfortunately...

Offline shlack

  • Posts: 25
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #33 on: March 10, 2008, 05:25:22 PM »
Quote

Defenitely too late for WB 2.7. Maybe this becomes available in 2.8 or 3.0 (doc) 

Unfortunately we have to use long titles for search engines optimization, but such long page name is nightmare :-(
It is a really downgrade since 2.6.x...  :-(

Offline thorn

  • Posts: 980
  • Gender: Male
    • Projects
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #34 on: March 10, 2008, 05:38:51 PM »
I have been creating and saving pages a lot, but often the page is not saved.
More specific while editing text an inserting images.
Also after saving the real website is returned.
I am testing on xampp.

same here unfortunately...

Do you use two windows (or tabs) the same time, one with backend, one with frontend - and with different Language-settings for Backend and displayed page, while this happens?

Answers in this thread, please:
http://www.websitebaker2.org/forum/index.php/topic,8949.msg52924.html#msg52924
WB2.7RC1: page isnt saved?

thorn.

pparks

  • Guest
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #35 on: March 10, 2008, 08:07:56 PM »
I have to concur with the others regarding the page name issue. All of the other features are fantastic! And upon finding out that the page name issue exists I have unfortunately made the decision to stay at 2.6.7. I am sure there are others that are as disappointed as I am.  :|

Is it possible to change that functionality through the template I am using? Maybe by calling a different variable?
You can modify three WB core files (Changeset 593) to restore the old behaviour of 2.6.7 (doc)

Phil Parks
« Last Edit: March 10, 2008, 08:31:02 PM by doc »

Offline erikp01

  • Posts: 44
  • Gender: Male
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #36 on: March 10, 2008, 09:37:46 PM »
About: WB2.7RC1: page isnt saved?

Thorn,
I always use two tabs also with 2.6.7, and never had any problem.
Now with 2.7 RC 1 this is the first time pages are not saved.
It has something to do with the text or images being selected, or the cursor position.

Erik

Offline DGEC

  • Posts: 388
  • Gender: Male
    • EbelTech homepage
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #37 on: March 10, 2008, 11:07:51 PM »
I agree with the page title!=filename sentiment. While it was an interesting idea, using the full page title as the actual page name looks to be over-kill from what I've seen.  Perhaps in some very hot search topics, it might be required, but I doubt many WB sites are in that type of market.

Using a fully-descriptive page title enabled some of my sites to gain enough page rank positioning. Having a well-chosen page name rather than a very long one is much more usable.  Can you imagine the breadcrumbs for some sites for sub-pages?! :-o 

The only spot where it might be worthwhile might be the news posts or perhaps individual product pages. Even then, there are elements that would be horrendous to have as part of the filename!

Thanks providing the 'fix' for this.  I suppose having an option on the Page Settings would be possible, though more work and requiring yet another variable.

andyzippo

  • Guest
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #38 on: March 10, 2008, 11:48:42 PM »
The only problem i found is that when i upgraded my site, the news page CSS giver me an error...doesn't save the changes i make...

I tested it first on me pc and worked great and now i use it on a online site as well...
seems to work great otherwise

roguesfan92

  • Guest
Re: Discussion about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #39 on: March 12, 2008, 07:55:55 AM »
Quote
The final release will have an upgrade script wich easily allows to upgrade from 2.6.7 to 2.7 (ruebenwurzel)

Just looked and I'm running 2.6.4 :-o How do I upgrade to 2.6.7 if that's possible?

Please look on our help page. (ruebenwurzel)
« Last Edit: March 12, 2008, 08:04:08 AM by ruebenwurzel »

bsp4750

  • Guest
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #40 on: March 13, 2008, 12:20:45 AM »
I don't know where to post this (here or in massmail modul threathttp://www.websitebaker2.org/forum/index.php/topic,564.0.html)
I installed wb27rc1, show menu2, massmail and newsletter.
bud i get the following error message when i try to create a massmailpage:

Template Error: set_block: unable to set block list_block. Halted.
This error was reported some time ago. Unfortunatelly we can not reproduce it (not on Windows XAMPP nor on Linux LAMPP). Can you please provide some more information about your system configuration (server, file permissions ...) doc

I'm using standard round template. (have also tried 3 other templates without any luck)

Is it possible to use massmail in wb27 (i tested it in wb276 and it works without problems)

(i have search the forum and google without any luck)
« Last Edit: March 13, 2008, 10:05:02 AM by doc »

doc

  • Guest
Re: Feedback about WB 2.7 RC1
« Reply #41 on: March 13, 2008, 09:33:34 PM »
Hello,

we have just released the second release candidate of WebsiteBaker 2.7. Therefore we have closed this thread.
Thank you very much for all your feedback regarding RC1.

Regards Christian
« Last Edit: March 13, 2008, 09:35:15 PM by doc »

 

postern-length