Author Topic: CKEditor - How to enable spell check  (Read 378 times)

Offline Nicky

  • Posts: 94
  • Gender: Male
CKEditor - How to enable spell check
« on: February 04, 2020, 02:35:22 PM »
Hello Bakers,

CKEditor help - how to enable spell checking.


I changed this from false to true in these two lines shown below in bold, logged-out and restarted WB (v2.12.2 r379)



wb_ckconfig.js

config.browserConte xtMenuOnCtrl = true;

    config.basicEntitie s = true;

    config.entities = false;
/*
    config.scayt_autoSt artup = true;
*/



settings_config.js

config.browserConte xtMenuOnCtrl = true;

    config.basicEntitie s = true;

    config.entities = false;
/*
    config.scayt_autoSt artup = true;
*/


Other than spell checking, CKEditor works fine for me. But there is no spell check icon, button or toolbar.

I seem to remember spell check was enabled by default in early WB versions.

What else do I need to do to get spellcheck working? Could it be a server issue ?

Nicky


Offline johnbroeckaert

  • Posts: 227
  • Gender: Male
Re: CKEditor - How to enable spell check
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2020, 08:08:30 PM »
try //   instead of /* in front of the line
so
Code: [Select]
// config.scayt_autoSt artup = true;
It is a happy talent to know how to play!

Offline Nicky

  • Posts: 94
  • Gender: Male
Re: CKEditor - How to enable spell check
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2020, 07:10:41 PM »
Thanks, I did try this,

  config.browserConte xtMenuOnCtrl = true;

    config.basicEntitie s = true;

    config.entities = false;
/*
// config.scayt_autoSt artup = true;
*/

and did the same with the wb version on the same line as in my original post. No change. Tried Chrome, FF, Opera, and Edge.

 

Online dbs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 8395
  • Gender: Male
  • tioz4ever
    • WebsiteBaker - jQuery-Plugins - Module - Droplets - Tests
Re: CKEditor - How to enable spell check
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2020, 07:34:24 AM »
Hello, in PHP
Code: [Select]
<?php
this
/*
    config.scayt_autoSt artup = true;
*/

this
/*
// config.scayt_autoSt artup = true;
*/

and this
// config.scayt_autoSt artup = true;
do all the same. It comments out the code, make it unusable.
(the space in Startup is a forum bug)

I think the spellcheck ist not implemented for reasons.
To use it you need also the right plugin in ckeditor/ckeditor/plugins/
Maybe wsv or scayt are the right ones, but do they work with this ckeditor version?
Next is, edit the ckeditor/include.php. Add wsv or scayt to the allowed plugins in line 166 ($ckeditor->config['extraPlugins']).
Next is, contains your toolbar the right placeholder for the plugin?

You see, it is not so easy.

Offline Luisehahne

  • WebsiteBaker Org e.V.
  • **
  • Posts: 4397
  • Gender: Male
    • Webdesign und Entwicklung WebsiteBaker
Re: CKEditor - How to enable spell check
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2020, 09:03:17 AM »

I think the spellcheck ist not implemented for reasons.
To use it you need also the right plugin in ckeditor/ckeditor/plugins/
Maybe wsv or scayt are the right ones, but do they work with this ckeditor version?
Next is, edit the ckeditor/include.php. Add wsv or scayt to the allowed plugins in line 166 ($ckeditor->config['extraPlugins']).
Next is, contains your toolbar the right placeholder for the plugin?


The reason to remove some plugins was to limit the package zip size  to max 2MB

Dietmar
Immer nur von der Zukunft reden, die Gegenwart vergessen und auf die Vergangenheit schimpfen
Neues Unwort: Schnappatmung

Offline Nicky

  • Posts: 94
  • Gender: Male
Re: CKEditor - How to enable spell check
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2020, 04:37:18 PM »
Way too complicated for me to fix. I did try this though -

Quote
Next is, edit the ckeditor/include.php. Add wsv or scayt to the allowed plugins in line 166 ($ckeditor->config['extraPlugins']).

but all my pages' WYSIWYG & source markup disappeared (which returned after I restored the original include.php).

So, I'll stick with using a browser spell checker I guess...

But thanks for looking at this.

Online dbs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 8395
  • Gender: Male
  • tioz4ever
    • WebsiteBaker - jQuery-Plugins - Module - Droplets - Tests
Re: CKEditor - How to enable spell check
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2020, 06:41:33 PM »
It was not a list of possible steps.
All steps are needed.
Therefore
Quote
You see, it is not so easy.

 

postern-length