Author Topic: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3  (Read 1516 times)

Offline mikejd

  • Posts: 225
Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« on: December 12, 2019, 04:31:21 PM »
I have just uploaded the new files, overwriting the old ones. Tried to open the website and I get the following error:

There was an uncatched exception
missing template file maintenance.htt
in line (808) of (/framework/class.wb.php):

Can anyone help please.

Offline mikejd

  • Posts: 225
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3 (SOLVED)
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2019, 04:44:38 PM »
Apologies. Search of forum produced solution, should have done this first.

Offline mikejd

  • Posts: 225
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2020, 02:54:09 PM »
Re-opening this query as I have tried to upgrade another website and am getting another error message:

Call to undefined function mysql_connect() in line (59) of (/framework/class.database.php)

Line 59 is:
   $status = $this->db_handle = mysql_connect(DB_HOST, DB_USERNAME, DB_PASSWORD);

What should I change to correct this please.

Offline dbs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 8402
  • Gender: Male
  • tioz4ever
    • WebsiteBaker - jQuery-Plugins - Module - Droplets - Tests
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2020, 04:04:59 PM »
The line 59 is empty in 2.12.2.
So i think you have an old file class.database.php.
Overwrite it with the newer one from the 2.12.2 package (or upload again the whole framework folder).

Offline kristenannie

  • Posts: 7
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2020, 06:04:45 PM »
I tried upgrading from 2.8.3 to 2.8.12 and am getting the same error message on the site now:

There was an uncatched exception
missing template file maintenance.htt
in line (808) of (/framework/class.wb.php):

I have searched the forums for the message to see if I could find the same solution you did, but I haven't been able to find it.

Can you post the link to the place in the forums where you found your solution?

Thanks so much,
Kristen

Offline hgs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 1279
    • EFG MG
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2020, 12:39:56 PM »
Versuche es nocheinmal mit der hier beschriebenen Methode. Die version 2.8.3 ist dafür die Mindesanforderung.
Du kannst es aber auch über die fehlerhafte Seite versuchen und als SuperAdmin das upgrade-script erneut aufrufen.
Wichig ist das Entpacken über das script unzip.php
Das hat bei allen Testversuchen (mehrere Hundert) funktioniert.
https://forum.WebsiteBaker.org/index.php/topic,31528.msg220618.html#msg220618
DeepL:
Try again with the method described here. Version 2.8.3 is the minimum requirement for this.
You can also try it via the faulty page and call the upgrade-script again as SuperAdmin.
Important is the unpacking via the script unzip.php
This has worked in all tests (several hundred).
LG Harald

"Fange nie an, aufzuhören - höre nie auf, anzufangen." Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.)

Offline kristenannie

  • Posts: 7
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2020, 02:37:14 AM »
Okay, I will give it a try on Monday. Thank you so much!

-Kristen

Offline hgs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 1279
    • EFG MG
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2020, 07:47:47 AM »
Alternativ kannst du mir das Backup vom WebSpace und der Datenbank zukommen lassen?
Wir werden es dann hier auf einer Testumgebung versuchen auf die aktuelle Version zu bringen.

DeepL
Alternatively you can send me the backup of the web space and database?
We will then try to bring it up to the current version here on a test environment.
LG Harald

"Fange nie an, aufzuhören - höre nie auf, anzufangen." Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.)

Offline kristenannie

  • Posts: 7
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2020, 11:28:09 PM »
What is the easiest and safest way to get a backup and database over to you?

Thanks,
Kristen

Offline hgs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 1279
    • EFG MG
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2020, 05:57:22 AM »
ich sende dir per pm die ZUgangsdaten zu meinem FTP-Server, dahin kannst du die Daten senden.

DeepL
I will send you the access data via pm to my FTP server, where you can send the data.
LG Harald

"Fange nie an, aufzuhören - höre nie auf, anzufangen." Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.)

Offline hgs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 1279
    • EFG MG
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2020, 10:20:06 AM »
Feedback für die Gemeinschaft
Die 2 Seiten wurden mit der Anleitung aus dem Forum:
https://forum.WebsiteBaker.org/index.php/topic,23412.msg158494.html#msg158494
von den Originalversionen 2.8.1 und 2.8.2 in zwei schritten auf die aktuelle WB-Version 2.12.2 gebracht.
Zum Glück waren von diesen Seiten ein Backup incl. Datenbank-Dump vorhanden.

DeepL
Feedback for the community
The 2 pages were created with the instructions from the forum:
https://forum.WebsiteBaker.org/index.php/topic,23412.msg158494.html#msg158494
from the original versions 2.8.1 and 2.8.2 in two steps to the current WB version 2.12.2.
Fortunately a backup incl. database dump was available from these pages.
LG Harald

"Fange nie an, aufzuhören - höre nie auf, anzufangen." Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.)

Offline svsanchez

  • Posts: 510
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #11 on: February 28, 2020, 12:25:49 AM »
Hello, I'am also facing several problems with the upgrade.

My site www.issgt.com is all messed up after running the upgrade, there were about 4 "method not allowed" messages but I closed the page by accident and couldn't note them.

I had version 2.8.3 rev 1611 with PHP 5.6 running on the site. I did NOT change the PHP version to 7.2 before upgrading, and was wondering if the "method not allowed" messages could have been caused by not changing the PHP version? Can I run the unzip.php again, now with PHP 7.2?

Offline svsanchez

  • Posts: 510
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #12 on: February 28, 2020, 04:39:20 AM »
Hello again, I decided to restore everything and try again the unzip.php changing first the PHP version to 7.2. This time, I didn't get any errors during the unzip phase, BUT my site (issgt.com) again got all messed up. So, I wanted to run the upgrade-script but now I can't login to the backend (the instructions say to login to the backend and run the upgrade script from them).

I know I am using the correct password but it won't accept it, so I tried the forgot password link and received a "xxxxx" username with my new password. I tried to login with my usual login name and the new password but couldn't. Then I tried with the xxxxx username and the new password and also couldn't. I finally tried changing the password via phpMyAdmin, but WB always says the Login name or password is incorrect.

How can I login to the backend?

Offline svsanchez

  • Posts: 510
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2020, 06:33:40 AM »
Me again. It seems that after the unzip process is done, WB won't let you login to the backend unless the admin user has the ID 1 in the database. For some reason, my admin user had the ID as #3, so I changed it to 1 and it finally let me in. I'm about to run the upgrade script, hoping that everything will work correctly afterwards...

Offline hgs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 1279
    • EFG MG
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #14 on: February 28, 2020, 07:08:33 AM »
good luck
Yes, since version 2.10, only the USER with ID 1 can start an upgrade from the BackEnd. For security reasons, calling www.domäne.tld/upgrade-sript.php as before no longer works.
LG Harald

"Fange nie an, aufzuhören - höre nie auf, anzufangen." Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.)

Offline svsanchez

  • Posts: 510
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #15 on: February 28, 2020, 07:39:36 AM »
Thank you hgs, it would be great if someone could update the instructions from https://WebsiteBaker.org/pages/posts/wb-2-12-1-stable-version-published12.php to warn that:

1) PHP Version 7.x is needed BEFORE running the unzip.php
2) Admin MUST HAVE ID 1 or he wont be able to login to the backend to run the upgrade script

The upgrade script did fix all the messed things, although the products on my Bakery catalog and some other pages had accented characters messed up. I searched and replaced most of them via phpMyAdmin. It would be great to have some instructions to avoid this.

I will continue checking the site tomorrow, hopefully this helps others in their upgrade process.


Offline hgs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 1279
    • EFG MG
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #16 on: February 28, 2020, 08:07:34 AM »
To 1)
This is not necessary, I recently moved two ancient pages from 2.8.1 and 2.8.2 to 2.12.2 with php 5.6.
Switching to php7.x is not necessary.
To 2)
We have included this important information in the zip under /DOKU/README_EN.md.
Quote
4] Update of a WebsiteBaker version 2.8.3 or higher
e) Sign up as SuperAdmin (ID 1) in the backend and start the upgrade script by clicking on the link and follow the instructions.
Here (News to 2.12.2) the information is also deposited.
https://WebsiteBaker.org/pages/posts/wb2122stablepublished13.php
« Last Edit: February 28, 2020, 08:13:04 AM by hgs »
LG Harald

"Fange nie an, aufzuhören - höre nie auf, anzufangen." Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.)

Offline dbs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 8402
  • Gender: Male
  • tioz4ever
    • WebsiteBaker - jQuery-Plugins - Module - Droplets - Tests
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #17 on: February 28, 2020, 08:15:32 AM »
2) was also included in svsanchez link and is also included
in instructions for 2.12.1: https://forum.WebsiteBaker.org/index.php/topic,31185.0.html  and
in instructions for 2.12.2: https://forum.WebsiteBaker.org/index.php/topic,31528.0.html

Offline svsanchez

  • Posts: 510
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #18 on: March 02, 2020, 10:45:18 PM »
Hello hgs and dbs, thank you for your replies. For some reason, my upgrade didn't work with php 5.6, there were several errors. It went ok when I changed to php 7, who knows then why in my case it didn't work. But if someone else has issues maybe this helps.

Regarding #2, I know it says to login as superadmin (ID 1) but in my case the superadmin for some reason wasn't ID 1 but ID 3. I changed it to ID 1 because the instructions said that the superadmin ID was #1 but I didn't really thought that would be the reason it wasn't allowing me to login. So I just thought that to make the instructions more clear, it could be rephrased to something like "make sure your super admin has ID 1 or you won't be able to login after the upgrade. If it's not ID 1, you can change it via phpMyAdmin" or something like that.

Cheers!

Offline dbs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 8402
  • Gender: Male
  • tioz4ever
    • WebsiteBaker - jQuery-Plugins - Module - Droplets - Tests
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #19 on: March 02, 2020, 11:33:47 PM »
Please try to understand. Only the admin with ID 1 is the SuperAdmin.
All other admins|id's are normal admins and have no access to e.g. the email settings in the advanced WB settings.
It means you was not the SuperAdmin until now. :)

Offline hgs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 1279
    • EFG MG
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #20 on: March 03, 2020, 08:10:52 AM »
In addition to the Post from dbs still the reference:
The "SuperAdmin" is entered in the DB with the used name during the first installation and can only occur once.
It is amazing that you could simply change the entry in the DB as user-id 1, this can only work if this user-id did not (no longer) exist in the table "wb_users".
A second user-id 1 would not be accepted by the DB.
LG Harald

"Fange nie an, aufzuhören - höre nie auf, anzufangen." Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.)

Offline svsanchez

  • Posts: 510
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #21 on: April 17, 2020, 05:32:09 AM »
Hello hgs, regarding this:

In addition to the Post from dbs still the reference:
The "SuperAdmin" is entered in the DB with the used name during the first installation and can only occur once.
It is amazing that you could simply change the entry in the DB as user-id 1, this can only work if this user-id did not (no longer) exist in the table "wb_users".
A second user-id 1 would not be accepted by the DB.

You are correct, there was no user with ID=1 in the DB, it's a very old site so maybe I removed it for some reason and forgot overtime!

Lucky me it all worked after that  :-)

Offline svsanchez

  • Posts: 510
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #22 on: April 17, 2020, 05:38:21 AM »
Hello guys, hope everybody is doing fine during this difficult time.

While on lockdown, I thought it would be a good time to upgrade my biggest site made with WB from 2.8.3 to 2.12, so the first thing I did was install a copy of the site on another domain to test. The upgrade script went ALMOST perfectly, but now I'm facing two problems:

1) The most pressing problem is that when I click on PAGES in the backend, I get an INTERNAL SERVER ERROR. All other parts of the admin seem to work fine (haven't tried to install / uninstall modules). The site itself works albeit a little slow.

2) The second problem I had it with my previous upgrades: accented characters get messed up during the upgrade, and would like to know if there's a link with instructions to prevent this from happening, so that when I upgrade the real site I won't have the same problem.

Thank you and stay safe everyone!

Offline hgs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 1279
    • EFG MG
LG Harald

"Fange nie an, aufzuhören - höre nie auf, anzufangen." Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.)

Offline svsanchez

  • Posts: 510
Re: Upgrading to 12.2.2 from 2.8.3
« Reply #24 on: April 20, 2020, 12:33:09 AM »
Hello everybody.

Regarding #1, my host said the request was too big so they increased the memory limit and this solved the Internal Server Error.

Regarding #2, I went to the link you suggested HGS, but didn't understand how to convert the DB so that it won't mess up the accented characters after upgrading. So, I had to run quite a few SQL commands in phpMyAdmin to solve the mess. Here are some of the commads I ran in case anybody else runs into the same problem (only for the pages, you have check every module and change the commands to the appropriate tables and columns)

UPDATE wb_pages
SET menu_title = Replace(menu_title, 'á', 'á');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET menu_title = Replace(menu_title, 'í', 'í');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET menu_title = Replace(menu_title, 'ó', 'ó');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET menu_title = Replace(menu_title, 'é', 'é');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET menu_title = Replace(menu_title, 'ú', 'ú');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET menu_title = Replace(menu_title, 'ñ', 'ñ');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET menu_title = Replace(menu_title, 'Á', 'Á');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET menu_title = Replace(menu_title, 'É', 'É');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET menu_title = Replace(menu_title, 'Ú', 'Ú');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET menu_title = Replace(menu_title, '¿', '¿');



***

UPDATE wb_pages
SET page_title = Replace(page_title, 'á', 'á');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET page_title = Replace(page_title, 'é', 'é');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET page_title = Replace(page_title, 'í', 'í');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET page_title = Replace(page_title, 'ó', 'ó');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET page_title = Replace(page_title, 'ú', 'ú');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET page_title = Replace(page_title, 'ñ', 'ñ');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET page_title = Replace(page_title, 'Á', 'Á');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET page_title = Replace(page_title, 'É', 'É');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET page_title = Replace(page_title, 'Ú', 'Ú');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET page_title = Replace(page_title, '¿', '¿');


***

UPDATE wb_pages
SET description = Replace(description, 'á', 'á');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET description = Replace(description, 'é', 'é');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET description = Replace(description, 'í', 'í');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET description = Replace(description, 'ó', 'ó');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET description = Replace(description, 'ú', 'ú');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET description = Replace(description, 'ñ', 'ñ');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET description = Replace(description, 'Á', 'Á');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET description = Replace(description, 'É', 'É');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET description = Replace(description, 'Ú', 'Ú');

UPDATE wb_pages
SET description = Replace(description, '¿', '¿');