Author Topic: Templates problems in 2.11.0  (Read 841 times)

Offline carto

  • Posts: 12
Templates problems in 2.11.0
« on: February 27, 2018, 05:42:30 PM »
Hi,
I installed 2.11.0 with no problem.
However many templates that were working well in 2.10 (1024px, All_css, simple_x, etc) are not working anymore.
Any idea why?
Thank you

Offline ruebenwurzel

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 8364
  • Gender: Male
  • Keep on Rockin
    • Familie Gallas Online
Re: Templates problems in 2.11.0
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2018, 06:48:35 PM »
Hello,

the templates you have ar very old. Please check wich menu call is used. If show_menu() is used please switch to show_menu2().

Matthias

Offline jacobi22

  • Posts: 5210
  • Gender: Male
  • Support also via PM or EMail
    • Jacobi22
Re: Templates problems in 2.11.0
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2018, 07:36:49 PM »
if you are the Super-Admin in your WB-Installation: Go also to Settings -> Advanced Settings -> Server-Settings -> PHP-Errors - set it to Development or Production, to get more information about the errors
Probleme sind da, um sie zu lösen, nicht, um nach Ausreden zu suchen.

Offline carto

  • Posts: 12
Re: Templates problems in 2.11.0
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2018, 11:30:33 PM »
Thank you for the speedy replies, I will work with that and let you know the results.

Best regards

Offline HK

  • Posts: 83
  • Gender: Male
    • Pierewaaien Scheveningen
Re: Templates problems in 2.11.0
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2018, 12:31:56 PM »
I had the same problem and changed to show_menu2() so the menu reappeared.
Now on the spot where I expected a menu item of a page with default template I get:
class="menu_current"class="menu_default"
instead and
There was an uncatched exception
Unknown column '' in 'order clause'
in line (143) of (\modules\news\view.php):

where I expected a news item.
This was all done in a XAMPP test environment.
See: https://gyazo.com/e0fc8c691bf2a01ee28f3ded17828cac

I would like to argue for maintaining at least one non responsive template for websites in WebsiteBaker.
Sometimes the overview that provides a non-responsive home page is an advantage.
Many smartphone users have no problem with the enlargement of the image with, for example, the menu as they are already used to viewing photos.
Responsive design does not always have to be preferred.
I would like to argue for continuing to maintain, for example, AllCSS as a non-responsive template; it would be nice if the possibility for an extra block were added.
Groeten, HK Amstelveen

Offline jacobi22

  • Posts: 5210
  • Gender: Male
  • Support also via PM or EMail
    • Jacobi22
Re: Templates problems in 2.11.0
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2018, 01:03:53 PM »
these are two different problem's

1. show_menu2 - please show us the show_menu2-Call from your template - there is a small error inside

2. do you use special chars in the title of the news like ' or "  ? so, that it's empty now?
there are 3 possible order fields in news, order by position, order by date and order by title - if you choose Order by title or Order by position, but the title or the position is empty, you get this error message

check at first the news-settings for this, then your news title for special chars - if your order setting is "Order by position", change the position of one news via drag&drop or use the arrows. this write new position's values for all items
Probleme sind da, um sie zu lösen, nicht, um nach Ausreden zu suchen.

Offline HK

  • Posts: 83
  • Gender: Male
    • Pierewaaien Scheveningen
Re: Templates problems in 2.11.0
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2018, 10:00:17 AM »
Thanks Jacobi!
1. The show menu problem is solved by deleting the code between the hooks () that was inherited from the original AllCSS template. Without any code between the hooks, the menu presents as expected, even in 2 levels.
2. I did not manage to add any message in the news module, nor did I succeed in giving in the general settings in the module. I tried, but after 'save' everything I filled in will be disappeared. Also I wonder what I should add in the Message "loop" field. The 'order by field' is prefilled. See: https://gyazo.com/c091be05433f4c015a0c31d6d1497468.
As this is not the right place in the forum to discuss module problems I was looking for a forum discussion for the 'News' module but it does not seem to exist. Maybe I am the only dummy that has problems with this module? Version v3.8.0. in WB 2.11.0. Everything was done in a XAMPP test environment with PHP7.
Groeten, HK Amstelveen

Offline jacobi22

  • Posts: 5210
  • Gender: Male
  • Support also via PM or EMail
    • Jacobi22
Re: Templates problems in 2.11.0
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2018, 10:40:31 AM »
thx for the screenshot - that help's  (Y)

it look's like a broken install process. in a working installation, all fields in the news settings are full with code > see https://i.gyazo.com/2e9a95bb2e71cdccab6af409db08c087.png

try at first this simple way ( but you lost all news with this method)
- go to addons -> modules -> advanced -> manual install
- choose there "news" from the list
- click on execute to start the manual install
- go back to the news setting - is is okay now?


another way - manual input of the settings

the content for this fields in news settings come's from the file
./modules/news/presets/default.layout.inc.php
for example one definition

Quote
$post_footer = '
<p>[TEXT_LAST_CHANGED]: [MODI_DATE] [TEXT_AT] [MODI_TIME]</p>
<a href="[BACK]">[TEXT_BACK]</a>
';

copy the code between the apostroph's for every field, in the example green marked

what is the used news-version?
Probleme sind da, um sie zu lösen, nicht, um nach Ausreden zu suchen.

Offline HK

  • Posts: 83
  • Gender: Male
    • Pierewaaien Scheveningen
Re: Templates problems in 2.11.0
« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2018, 11:44:36 AM »
Hi Jacobi, thanks for your screenshot too; it clarifies the matter.
I tried the simple way but it had not the wanted effect.
I can try to upgrade to WB 2.12, is that a good idea?
Groeten, HK Amstelveen

Offline jacobi22

  • Posts: 5210
  • Gender: Male
  • Support also via PM or EMail
    • Jacobi22
Re: Templates problems in 2.11.0
« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2018, 11:50:39 AM »
i'm not sure with the upgrade, because, it looks, that your news settings are empty and the upgrade cannot repair this

is it possible to deinstall the news module? if YES, uninstall it and install the latest version from the Addons
or download the WB 2.12-Package, build a ZIP-File from the files inside of the news-module-folder and install it as a new module

do you have some error messages about the news module?  (X-Button in Top-Menu of the Backend)
Probleme sind da, um sie zu lösen, nicht, um nach Ausreden zu suchen.

Offline HK

  • Posts: 83
  • Gender: Male
    • Pierewaaien Scheveningen
Re: Templates problems in 2.11.0
« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2018, 12:11:11 PM »
I was able te deinstall the corrupt News module and installed the latest version, v3.9.4 and got an error message.
So I zipped the News module as was downloaded with WB 2.11 and installed it (v3.8.0); now the setting frames were filled with code OK. The news module does work OK now. Thanks for helping!
I would like to make 1 message 'sticky'; is that possible? How?
Groeten, HK Amstelveen

Offline jacobi22

  • Posts: 5210
  • Gender: Male
  • Support also via PM or EMail
    • Jacobi22
Re: Templates problems in 2.11.0
« Reply #11 on: September 01, 2018, 01:32:34 PM »
I would like to make 1 message 'sticky'; is that possible? How?

not possible with the normal (single) news module, but, if you use a little trick  :wink:
work with multiple news sections, if possible, on the same page (i've never test this), if not possible on one single page, use a hidden page for the sticky news and a section picker on your page with the news module.
maybe, you have to change the output template in you news settings, but it works
Probleme sind da, um sie zu lösen, nicht, um nach Ausreden zu suchen.