Author Topic: Russian UTF - 8 needed, would do it myself, but how?  (Read 14305 times)

Raven

  • Guest
Russian UTF - 8 needed, would do it myself, but how?
« on: January 19, 2006, 07:04:42 PM »
Hi all,

I need a Russian version of the language file. I'd do that myself, if I knew how to produce and save UTF-8 to a .txt saving format?

Also, is there anywhere a sample for the current translation file?

Greetings

Raven

Offline ruebenwurzel

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 8376
  • Gender: Male
  • Keep on Rockin
    • Familie Gallas Online
Re: Russian UTF - 8 needed, would do it myself, but how?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2006, 08:08:11 PM »
Hello,

look at languages EN.php. Translate it to russian. Edit the header information and store it under RU.php or RU.txt.

If it's stored as .php copy the file with ftp to the languages dir (where EN.php is) and then go in admin interface to settings/advanced settings to the reload tool at the bottom and reload the languages to get them showed in the admin interface.

If you named it .txt install this file in admin interface with add-ons/languages.

Hope this helps

Matthias

Raven

  • Guest
Re: Russian UTF - 8 needed, would do it myself, but how?
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2006, 08:17:02 PM »
Hi again,

thanks for pointing me towards the correct and actual file ;-)

However, to edit it either as PHP or .txt in cyrillic I'll probably need something I don't have, possibly a unicode text editor (none of my usual editors except Word is capable of writing AND saving proper charsets). I've googled but so far can't seem to find a free, non-adware/spyware-loaded and simple editor to do this.

Any suggestions?

Greetings

Raven

Offline ruebenwurzel

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 8376
  • Gender: Male
  • Keep on Rockin
    • Familie Gallas Online
Re: Russian UTF - 8 needed, would do it myself, but how?
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2006, 08:26:01 PM »

Raven

  • Guest
Re: Russian UTF - 8 needed, would do it myself, but how?
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2006, 09:00:24 PM »
Hi again,

this gives me some more insight, but unfortunately it doesn't help me in the practical translating and saving procedure. I get "??????????" instead of e.g. "Старт", saving with either Dreamweaver, Word, Wordpad or Notepad to .txt or .php.

Greetings

Raven

Offline ruebenwurzel

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 8376
  • Gender: Male
  • Keep on Rockin
    • Familie Gallas Online
Re: Russian UTF - 8 needed, would do it myself, but how?
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2006, 09:04:03 PM »
Try it with notepad++

http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net

Matthias

Raven

  • Guest
Re: Russian UTF - 8 needed, would do it myself, but how?
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2006, 11:07:01 PM »
Hi again,

thanks, it works  :-D

Will post the file once I'm done.

Greetings

Raven

Raven

  • Guest
Re: Russian UTF - 8 needed, would do it myself, but how?
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2006, 05:14:02 PM »
Hi again,

this is the convert.php needed for transliteration of Cyrillic file names. It works with charset UTF-8, no guarantee whether it works with any others. Transliteration is from Cyrillic to English Latin.

Download, rename .txt to .php and upload into framework replacing the old convert.php.

Greetings

Raven

[gelöscht durch Administrator]

Offline Eugine

  • Posts: 7
  • Gender: Male
  • Eugine
    • My page
Re: Russian UTF - 8 needed, would do it myself, but how?
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2008, 10:03:22 AM »
help inquiry
I copied  convert.php into the framework directory but the work principle was not clear. How will it work? Which of the scripts will cause coversion of Russian names into latin characters? Where should I place the request for the procedure that is used by this file in order to have Russian names converted into latin? After UTF-8 coding I have something in the nature of F2398HKSAJHDKAJ_ASH DKJH.php
One more thing. When I changed the file .\admin\interface\charsets.php by adding the line  $CHARSETS['win-1251'] = 'Windows-1251'; and activated this coding I failed to add new pages as the system advises of a mistake:
A pagу with the same or similar title exists
Please clarify these issues,
Best regards

Offline ruebenwurzel

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 8376
  • Gender: Male
  • Keep on Rockin
    • Familie Gallas Online
Re: Russian UTF - 8 needed, would do it myself, but how?
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2008, 12:33:52 PM »
Hello,

if you use WB 2.7 the russian language is included. By using the default charset settings (UTF-8) all things should work fine.

Wich version of WB did you have?

Matthias

Offline Eugine

  • Posts: 7
  • Gender: Male
  • Eugine
    • My page
Re: Russian UTF - 8 needed, would do it myself, but how?
« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2009, 11:14:21 AM »
Codings UTF it is small, since URL it is incorrectly coded, and use windows-1251 is justified.
In version 2.8 again such error and again I have corrected

 

postern-length