Author Topic: x_cForm  (Read 14160 times)

aldus

  • Guest
x_cForm
« on: September 03, 2008, 03:41:10 PM »
A simple modul snipplet for a class for formulars forms

Once you have the modul installed you can use a class "cForm" to build forms.
Notice: this is not QuickForm (PEAR) and it is not mean as a portation to WebsiteBaker at all;
even no recoding of the package.

Current Version: 0.1.3.beta - 2008-10-07

update: multiple selections support

Requirements:
  • WebsiteBaker 2.7
  • PHP 5.2.x

Known issues
  • No options/radio - groups
  • No validations
  • No file-upload

ToDo - Roadmap
  • add options/radio - groups
  • add simple client/serverside validations
  • file-upload


Bugfix in 0.1.2 Alpha: Checkbox-bugfix for missplaced "'" single quote ...

Bugfix in 0.1.1 Alpha: Typos ("cancle" instead of "cancel")

Any kind of improvment, critics, recomentations, code-cleanings, warnings and grumble
are always wellcome.

Some examples:

If you want to use this class in the backend you are in the need to import it first, like
Code: [Select]
<?php
require_once (WB_PATH.&#39;/modules/x_cform/include.php&#39;);
?>

If you want to use it inside a template you don't need it.

Initial within some formattributes, you can use any valid attribute as you like inside an assoc. array.
Code: [Select]
<?php
$form_attribs 
= Array (
    &
#39;name&#39;        => "wb_addresses_form",
    
&#39;class&#39;        => "xForm",
    
&#39;action&#39;    => $_SERVER[&#39;PHP_SELF&#39;]
);

$form = new c_form$form_attribs );
?>


Add a hidden field with the name "id" and a typical value to the formular
Code: [Select]
<?php
$form
->addElement( Array (&#39;type&#39; => &#39;hidden&#39;, &#39;name&#39; => "id", "value" => $_REQUEST[&#39;id&#39;]) );
?>


Add a textfield with an label to the formular
Code: [Select]
<?php
$form
->addElement( Array (&#39;type&#39; => &#39;text&#39;, &#39;label&#39;=> ucfirst($i), &#39;name&#39; => $i, &#39;value&#39; => $data[$i] ) );
?>


Add a textarea to the formular
Code: [Select]
<?php
$form
->addElement( Array (&#39;type&#39; => &#39;textarea&#39;, &#39;label&#39;=> ucfirst($i), &#39;name&#39; => $i, &#39;content&#39; => $data[$i] ) );
?>


Add a select to the formular
As a "content" you will have to pass an assoc. array in the form "Key" = value, where the Key is display
in the popup menu. You can also pass a "select"-value to the select.
Code: [Select]
<?php
$content 
= array (
    &
#39;Anna&#39;        => 1,
    
&#39;Judith&#39;    => 2,
    
&#39;Mary Lou&#39;    => 3,
    
&#39;Xanthippe&#39;    => 4
}
$form->addElement( Array (&#39;type&#39; => &#39;select&#39;, &#39;label&#39; => ucfirst($i), &#39;name&#39; => $i, &#39;content&#39; => $group_select, &#39;select&#39;=>3 ) );
?>


Add a submit-button within some javascript.
Code: [Select]
<?php
$form
->addElement ( Array (&#39;type&#39; => &#39;submit&#39;, &#39;name&#39; => &#39;submit&#39;, &#39;value&#39; => $TEXT[&#39;SAVE&#39;], &#39;onclick&#39; => "this.submit();") );
?>

update 0.1.3: support for multiple select ...
Code: [Select]
<?php

$form
->addElement ( Array (
    &
#39;type&#39;        => &#39;select&#39;, 
    
&#39;name&#39;        => "group_id[]", 
    
&#39;label&#39;        => $ADDRESSES[&#39;DISPLAYGROUP&#39;], 
    
&#39;content&#39;    => $group_select, 
    
&#39;select&#39;    => explode(",",$temp_data[&#39;groups&#39;]), // !
    
&#39;multiple&#39;    =>&#39;multiple&#39;, 
    
&#39;size&#39;        => 4,
    
&#39;onload&#39;    => "alert(this);"
) );
?>


echo the complete form out of a module or template
Code: [Select]
<?php
echo $form->toHTML();
?>


Also supported types are "html", for "pur" html-code, "button", "cancel" and "checkbox".

To modify the output you can manipulate/change the template-strings (all public):

- $form_template - holds the complete form, default is:

"\n<form {{ attribs }}>\n{{ hidden }}\n<table>\n{{ content }}</table>\n</form>\n";

within the markers for
  • {{ attribs }} :: the formular-attributes, e.g. name, class, onchange, onsubmit, action, method ...
  • {{ hidden }} :: where to place the hidden values; by default at the begin of the formular
  • {{ content }} :: the complete formular-content

- $element_template - holds a single element, default is:

"<tr>\n\t<td class='left'>{{ label }}</td>\n\t<td class='right'>{{ content }}</td>\n</tr>\n"

within the markers for
  • {{ label }} :: where to display the label of the element
  • {{ content }} :: where to display the element

So if you want to display the formular-elements inside divs you can easy overwrite the templates as you needed.


Regards
Aldus



[gelöscht durch Administrator]
« Last Edit: October 07, 2008, 02:59:43 PM by aldus »

aldus

  • Guest
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2008, 07:28:02 PM »
Update/Bugfix for 0.1.2 alpha

- Bugfix for "checkboxes" -> missplaced single quote bug ... could be problematic for some browsers
- Minor typos in the "info.php!" ...

Regards
Aldus

Offline Stefek

  • Posts: 6177
  • Gender: Male
  • ("ړ)
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2008, 09:52:21 PM »
Any kind of improvment, critics, recomentations, code-cleanings, warnings and grumble
are always wellcome.
Have some "grumble"  8-)

I don't get the clue what this is all about.
I can't figure out what to do with this - no idea.

But looks very interesting.
Maybe a working example would help understanding.

Regards,
Stefek
"Gemeinsam schafft man mehr."

gemeinsam
1. mehreren Personen oder Dingen in gleicher Weise gehörend, eigen
2. in Gemeinschaft [unternommen, zu bewältigen]; zusammen, miteinander
#Duden

aldus

  • Guest
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2008, 11:52:05 AM »
Make a new Page, Type: "code2", and place the following inside (PHP)
Code: [Select]
<?php
/**
 *    @version    0.1.0
 *    @date        2008-09-16
 *    @author        aldus
 *    @package    WebsiteBaker - code-examples
 *
 */

$form_attribs = Array (
    &
#39;name&#39;    => "search",
    
&#39;class&#39;    => "xForm",
    
&#39;action&#39;=> WB_URL."/search/index.php"
);

$form = new c_form$form_attribs );

$form->addElement( Array (&#39;type&#39; => &#39;hidden&#39;, &#39;name&#39; => "page_id", "value" => $page_id ) );
$form->addElement( Array (&#39;type&#39; => &#39;hidden&#39;, &#39;name&#39; => "section_id", "value" => $section_id ) );

$form->addElement( Array (
    &
#39;type&#39;    => &#39;text&#39;, 
    
&#39;label&#39;    => "Suchbegriff: ", 
    
&#39;name&#39;    => "string", 
    
&#39;style&#39; => "display:block;float:left;width:200px;"  
    
)
);

$form->addElement( Array(&#39;type&#39; => &#39;html&#39;, &#39;content&#39; => "&nbsp;") );

$form->addElement( Array (
    &
#39;type&#39;        => &#39;submit&#39;, 
    
&#39;name&#39;        => &#39;submit&#39;, 
    
&#39;value&#39;        => "Suchen", 
    
&#39;onclick&#39;    => "this.submit();", 
    
&#39;style&#39;        => "display:block;float:left;width:200px;"
    
)
);

echo 
$form->toHTML();
?>


As for other working examples you can take a look at "addresses" ...

Regards
Aldus

Offline Stefek

  • Posts: 6177
  • Gender: Male
  • ("ړ)
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2008, 01:04:44 PM »
Make a new Page, Type: "code2", and place the following inside (PHP)
Cool.

Best Regards,
Stefek
"Gemeinsam schafft man mehr."

gemeinsam
1. mehreren Personen oder Dingen in gleicher Weise gehörend, eigen
2. in Gemeinschaft [unternommen, zu bewältigen]; zusammen, miteinander
#Duden

Offline Argos

  • Posts: 2542
  • Gender: Male
    • Argos Media
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2008, 01:52:23 PM »
What's a "formular"?

Can someone please explain in a few sentences what this thingy is and does, without people having to install it first?

Thanks.
Jurgen Nijhuis
Argos Media
Heiloo, The Netherlands
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please don't request personal support, use the forums!

aldus

  • Guest
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2008, 02:05:49 PM »
What's a "formular"?

Can someone please explain in a few sentences what this thingy is and does, without people having to install it first?

Thanks.

I must apologize for the "dinglish" and the confusion about the word - it's simple a form.

Regards
Aldus

aldus

  • Guest
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2008, 03:01:42 PM »
Update for 0.1.3 -
multiple select support for elementType "select".

Regards
Aldus

Offline FrankH

  • Posts: 734
  • Gender: Male
    • Website Baker Demos
Re: x_cForm does not work
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2009, 12:23:07 PM »
I just installed x_cForm 0.14 from AMASP successfully.
But when I want to add a page, I can't choose this page type x_cForm because I don't see it in the list.
What's wrong here?
Ochs und Esel in ihrem Lauf
halt ich leider auch nicht auf

aldus

  • Guest
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2009, 12:56:53 PM »
Because it's a "code"-modul (snippet) - not a page-module like "form" ...
To use it for the frontend you can use a code/code2 page like in the examples.
If you want to use it for the backend, e.g. inside a modul in "modify.php", you will have to include it first.

Regards
Aldus

Offline bschaich

  • Posts: 42
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2011, 02:18:28 AM »
I found a small bug in your snippet and maybe I can get some help in return...

In line 358 of include.php there is one parameter too much, which brings up an error in php 5.3, as this parameter is deprecated.
Code: [Select]
$t = mktime( 0, 0, 0, $month, 1, 1, 2001);
However, the deprecated parameter was never intended to use, instead you just can delete on of the numbers "1", as they obviously somehow doubles unintended. Why the code worked anyways I did not follow up.

Well, and now here is my problem:
I see I can do nice date fields with that class, but how can this be integrated with a form? I expect I have somehow to do an addelement() with the date, but don't get it... Any hints?

regards,
Benny

Kant

  • Guest
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2011, 02:34:50 PM »
Hello Benny
There is a littel "test.php" inside the modules itsleft within some example-code for the use of "dateSelect".
The simples way is to place it as an HTML-content - e.g.
Code: [Select]
<?php
/**
 * Just a simple call within inside a code/code2 section
 * Please keep in mind, you don&#39;t have to include the module file here, as this one
 * is a code-snippet.
 * If you want to use it in the backend you will have to include it first, e.g.
 * require_once (WB_PATH."/modules/x_cForm/include.php");
 *
 */
 
$form_args = array(
&#39;method&#39; => "post",
&#39;action&#39; => "#",
&#39;class&#39; => "my_example_form_class"
);

$form = new c_form$form_args );

/**
 * Add a simple date-select
 *
 */
$form->addElement( array(
&#39;type&#39; => "html",
&#39;name&#39; => "example",
&#39;content&#39; => $form->dateSelect(),
&#39;label&#39; => "example"
)
);

/**
 * Add submit button
 *
 */
$form->addElement ( array (
&#39;type&#39; => &#39;submit&#39;,
&#39;name&#39; => &#39;submit&#39;,
&#39;value&#39; => $TEXT[&#39;SAVE&#39;],
&#39;onclick&#39; => "this.submit();"
)
);

echo 
$form->toHTML();

unset( 
$form );
e.g. inside a code/code2 section. As for the (mini)-bug - thanks - as far as i can see version 0.2.0 is uploaded on AMASP.

Kind regards

Offline bschaich

  • Posts: 42
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2011, 11:24:52 PM »
Thanks a lot, that was quite helpful!

Regards,
Benny

Offline bschaich

  • Posts: 42
A "cancel" button?
« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2011, 08:50:50 PM »
Hi,

here is some of my code:
Code: [Select]
$form->addElement( Array (
    'type'        => 'submit',
    'name'        => 'submit',
    'value'        => "Sichern",
    'onclick'    => "this.submit();",
    'style'        => "display:block;float:left;width:100px;"
    )
);
$form->addElement( Array (
    'type'        => 'cancel',
    'name'        => 'cancel',
    'value'        => "Abbrechen", 
    'style'        => "display:block;float:right;width:100px;"
    )
);

These are two buttons, a Submit and a Cancel button. Unfortunately the "cancel" button is interpreted as Textfield.  I also checked the code of x_cForm and the word "cancel" is used as type directly.  I cannot find anywhere in HTML a type "cancel". Actually the name of the type is "reset"...

Am i getting something wrong here?

Regards,
Benny

Offline Stefek

  • Posts: 6177
  • Gender: Male
  • ("ړ)
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #14 on: November 23, 2011, 03:16:11 AM »
The second array must have value of 'submit' in the 'type' index.

Regards,
Stefek
"Gemeinsam schafft man mehr."

gemeinsam
1. mehreren Personen oder Dingen in gleicher Weise gehörend, eigen
2. in Gemeinschaft [unternommen, zu bewältigen]; zusammen, miteinander
#Duden

Offline Bug

  • Posts: 237
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2011, 09:46:26 PM »
Can someone describe why to use this in stead of pmform?

Offline bschaich

  • Posts: 42
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #16 on: December 05, 2011, 12:08:35 AM »
Can someone describe why to use this in stead of pmform?
Good question. I need those values to put them into a database. To my knowledge PMForm puts all data into one field. This does not allow the use of foreign keys and a couple of more reasons why data usually is put into DB...

I'd be glad if I'm not right....

regards,
Benny

Offline wbs_H

  • Posts: 43
Re: x_cForm
« Reply #17 on: February 25, 2017, 06:38:58 PM »
Make a new Page, Type: "code2", and place the following inside (PHP)
Code: [Select]
<?php
/**
 *    @version    0.1.0
 *    @date        2008-09-16
 *    @author        aldus
 *    @package    WebsiteBaker - code-examples
 *
 */

code example doesnt work when place in code 2 and code 3. Help?

$form_attribs = Array (
    
'name'    => "search",
    
'class'    => "xForm",
    
'action'=> WB_URL."/search/index.php"
);

$form = new c_form$form_attribs );

$form->addElement( Array ('type' => 'hidden''name' => "page_id""value" => $page_id ) );
$form->addElement( Array ('type' => 'hidden''name' => "section_id""value" => $section_id ) );

$form->addElement( Array (
    
'type'    => 'text'
    
'label'    => "Suchbegriff: "
    
'name'    => "string"
    
'style' => "display:block;float:left;width:200px;"  
    
)
);

$form->addElement( Array('type' => 'html''content' => "&nbsp;") );

$form->addElement( Array (
    
'type'        => 'submit'
    
'name'        => 'submit'
    
'value'        => "Suchen"
    
'onclick'    => "this.submit();"
    
'style'        => "display:block;float:left;width:200px;"
    
)
);

echo 
$form->toHTML();
?>


As for other working examples you can take a look at "addresses" ...

Regards
Aldus