Author Topic: Display a Blog menu  (Read 49810 times)

Offline gemnb

  • Posts: 52
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #25 on: September 17, 2008, 01:16:13 PM »
Anyone?

Offline Stefek

  • Posts: 6177
  • Gender: Male
  • ("ړ)
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #26 on: September 17, 2008, 01:30:21 PM »
Hi there,
I have a question. I implemented the blog menu in a codepage. When I click an item in the blocksection I've made, the news item appears in the contentbox but the list of history-items in the blocksection disappear (I hope you know what I mean).
How can I change it?

Regards,
Ton
Quote
but the list of history-items in the blocksection disappear
I think it's because your whole page is changed and the "CodePage" is not visible anymore.

The solution is to hardcode your code (you used in the "codePage") into your Template, so it's present all the time onevery page.

May think with this?

Regards,
Stefek
"Gemeinsam schafft man mehr."

gemeinsam
1. mehreren Personen oder Dingen in gleicher Weise gehörend, eigen
2. in Gemeinschaft [unternommen, zu bewältigen]; zusammen, miteinander
#Duden

Offline gemnb

  • Posts: 52
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #27 on: September 17, 2008, 02:50:41 PM »
Thanks Stefek for your answer, but I'm still confused.
When looking at Eki's website, you can go to the weblog menu. On the left you see all the catagories. Clicking one of the items gives a result, but the menu stays.
This isn't hardcoded I assume?

Regards,
Ton

Offline Stefek

  • Posts: 6177
  • Gender: Male
  • ("ړ)
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #28 on: September 17, 2008, 02:51:58 PM »
After installing the menu can be called from a code section or from the template itself with the following function:

Code: [Select]
display_blog_menu($page_id,$date_option,$group_header,$history_header)

Hello!
" or from the template itself" means that this is "hardcoded" into the template.  :wink:

Regards,
Stefek
"Gemeinsam schafft man mehr."

gemeinsam
1. mehreren Personen oder Dingen in gleicher Weise gehörend, eigen
2. in Gemeinschaft [unternommen, zu bewältigen]; zusammen, miteinander
#Duden

Offline Stefek

  • Posts: 6177
  • Gender: Male
  • ("ړ)
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #29 on: September 17, 2008, 03:10:04 PM »
Nevermind.

Will be glad if this solves your problem.  :wink:

Regards,
Stefek
"Gemeinsam schafft man mehr."

gemeinsam
1. mehreren Personen oder Dingen in gleicher Weise gehörend, eigen
2. in Gemeinschaft [unternommen, zu bewältigen]; zusammen, miteinander
#Duden

Offline gemnb

  • Posts: 52
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #30 on: September 17, 2008, 06:14:16 PM »
No, but I hope I'll find a way to make it work.   :|
I only want the list to appear when I click the (my own) Archive menu button, not all of the time ( just like it is on Eki's website!).

Regards,
Ton

Offline gemnb

  • Posts: 52
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #31 on: September 18, 2008, 11:53:22 PM »
Well, I can't find the answer (and no one else can, I assume) . So unfortunately there seems to be no solution to this one for now.
I've also tried to create the same situation in WB 2.6.7. (I'm using 2.7), but I got the same result.  :-(

Regards,
Ton

Offline ghost06

  • Posts: 53
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #32 on: September 30, 2008, 10:18:16 PM »

Snippet works as follows:

Code: [Select]
display_blog_menu($page_id,$date_option,$group_header,$history_header,$display_option)
In which:

page_id => the news page you want to generate the menu from
date_option => 0:=summarize according posted date (default), 1:=summarize according published date
group_header => header above the group menu (default: '<h1>Categories</h1>')
history_header => header above the group menu (default: '<h1>History</h1>')
display_option =>0:=show both history and categories (default); 1:=show only history; 2:=show only categories

I do not succeed to understand what I must put in mine index.php of the template

i have the page whit page_id=1
the media blog is in the section page_id=1#69

what I must insert in mine index.php of my template ones in order to show the menu?

help me plese  :cry: :cry:

Eki

  • Guest
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #33 on: October 02, 2008, 02:18:37 PM »
Hi,

Page_id would be 1 then. Remember that this snippet is not working in WB2.7 yet. Also I have never tested it with the media-blog module.

To be honest I don't like the way this snippet has to be installed (even though I made it myself). It needs to have one of the original files of the news module replaced. And that is the only thing that is of any concern to me. If anybody finds another solution to this, please feel free to adapt the snippet and let me know.

regards,
Erik



Offline Ruud

  • Posts: 3660
  • Gender: Male
  • Do not use PM for help! Please use the forum!
    • Dev4Me - Professional WebsiteBaker Development
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #34 on: October 02, 2008, 05:17:15 PM »
On my WB-Tips site I added this too.

This is used in my template. (the news-page has PAGE_ID 8 )
Code: [Select]
               
<?php if (PAGE_ID != 8) {
    
display_news_items();
} else {
    
display_blog_menu(8,1,&#39;<h2>Onderwerpen</h2>&#39;,&#39;<h2>Historie</h2>&#39;);
}?>


Works great - running on WB2.7.

Ruud

Offline Ruud

  • Posts: 3660
  • Gender: Male
  • Do not use PM for help! Please use the forum!
    • Dev4Me - Professional WebsiteBaker Development
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #35 on: October 07, 2008, 10:36:39 AM »
Works great - running on WB2.7.

Ok, now I'm feeling a bit guilty a lot.  :oops:
The month selection did not work on a WB2.7 site.

My guilty feeling made me fix the problem and adapt the current news/view.php so it will work with the blog_menu snippet.

Just replace the view.php in the zip in this message with the original news module view.php.
(don't forget to backup the original one)

Now it should work correctly in WB27

Ruud



[gelöscht durch Administrator]
« Last Edit: October 07, 2008, 10:38:16 AM by Ruud »

Offline spida

  • Posts: 203
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #36 on: October 16, 2008, 12:56:57 PM »
Hi there,

I am still looking for a possibility to use the commenting function again. There's a little money on the hand to finance the module work-over. Please mail or just post here.

Regards,
spida

Offline Ruud

  • Posts: 3660
  • Gender: Male
  • Do not use PM for help! Please use the forum!
    • Dev4Me - Professional WebsiteBaker Development
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #37 on: October 16, 2008, 01:15:51 PM »
Did you use the adapted view.php in 2 posts above?

If so, what exactly is the problem? Maybe I can help.

Ruud

Offline spida

  • Posts: 203
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #38 on: October 20, 2008, 07:40:50 PM »
Hi,

I have exchanged the views.php. However, there is no possibility to comment an article.
Configuration is as follows:
  • public commenting for article is activated
  • public commenting for news is activated in news-options
  • captcha is activated in options

Since the manual says that
Quote
Changing this setting only affects future articles – it will not change the Commenting setting in existing articles!
I entered a new article. No commenting option still. There's only a line beneath the article saying:
Quote
None found
(I guess this means: No comments on this article found).

There, I am lost. Could you please help me? I must have missed something.

EDIT: I am also not sure wich views.php this is exactly. I have tried both, exchanging the views.php in the directory modules/news as well the news-view.php in the directory modules/blog_menu. The same results either way, as described above.

Best regards,
spida
« Last Edit: October 20, 2008, 08:01:05 PM by spida »

Offline spida

  • Posts: 203
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #39 on: October 20, 2008, 07:55:00 PM »
Hi there,

I think I also discovered a little bug in the module. If you watch an article of a specific group, you'll find a little navigation at the page's top, directing you to the group's overview or to the general article overview. Let's say you want to navigate back to the group's overview, and klick the link. Instead of getting there, you are redirected to the general article overview.

For those not afraid of a German language  ;-) you'll find an example here: http://www.e-daktik.de/pages/posts/erst-mal-kennenlernen4.php?g=6
Klick on "Konzeption" and instead of getting the list of articles in this group, you'll get a list of all articles.

The reason is the wrong URL wich is generated by a script (question is: by which one). The link in my example is
Code: [Select]
http://www.e-daktik.de/pages/artikel.php?g=6?g=6 but ist should be
Code: [Select]
http://www.e-daktik.de/pages/artikel.php?g=6
Where in the module does this needs to be corrected?

I hope I made myself clear, otherwise I will try another explanation, just ask.

Best regards,
spida

Offline spida

  • Posts: 203
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #40 on: October 22, 2008, 01:26:52 PM »
Hello there!

No ideas regarding my two problems? At least the commenting thing seems to be solvable, I am sure I just need a hint on what I am doing wrong.

Cheers,
spida

Offline spida

  • Posts: 203
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #41 on: October 27, 2008, 04:24:10 PM »
Hi there,

this looks a bit like a monologue, but I am still completely stuck, please see my posts earlier about my basic problem.

It might be a very busy time for everybody (as is for me), but I really need your help, pleeeeease.

best regards,
spida

Offline gemnb

  • Posts: 52
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #42 on: October 27, 2008, 07:21:20 PM »
Hi spida,
about the first problem you mentioned, I manually changed my view.php (WB 2.7) and all works well (including the commenting).
The second problem you've got, I also noticed. It's no problem to me for the moment, but it needs to be fixed. Maybe Eki can respond to it (??).

Regards,
Ton

Offline spida

  • Posts: 203
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #43 on: October 27, 2008, 07:25:09 PM »
Hi Ton,

thank your for your reply!
Which view.php did you change (meaning: in which directory)?

Eki is probably too busy with his new baby, changing diapers and all  :-D

Cheers,
spida

Offline gemnb

  • Posts: 52
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #44 on: October 27, 2008, 09:00:43 PM »
spida,
I changed the view.php of the news module directory.

Regards,
Ton

Offline spida

  • Posts: 203
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #45 on: October 27, 2008, 11:27:28 PM »
Hi Ton,

thank your for your advice.
I checked the views.php now but can't figure out what to change. Could you post your changes, please? That would be very helpful.

Best regards,
spida

Offline gemnb

  • Posts: 52
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #46 on: October 28, 2008, 08:27:12 AM »
Hi spida,
you can look at (or use) my version of the view.php (in the news module).

Regards,Ton

[gelöscht durch Administrator]

Offline Ruud

  • Posts: 3660
  • Gender: Male
  • Do not use PM for help! Please use the forum!
    • Dev4Me - Professional WebsiteBaker Development
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #47 on: October 28, 2008, 09:35:04 AM »
Guys,

The ?g=3?g=3 is not in the view.php but in the table settings in the backend of WB.
The breadcrumb links are being built from the original link. but when called from a "group link" it will include the group parameter too.

In the post header (settings button of newspage) the links are built using:
Code: [Select]
<td valign="top"><a href="[BACK]">[PAGE_TITLE]</a> >> <a href="[BACK]?g=[GROUP_ID]">[GROUP_TITLE]</a></td>
The [back] link will have the g= parameter (what is not right) and so the second level [back] will have two of them.

Change that line in:
Code: [Select]
<td valign="top"><a href="/pages/artikel.php">[PAGE_TITLE]</a> >> <a href="/pages/artikel.php?g=[GROUP_ID]">[GROUP_TITLE]</a></td>
And it is fixed.
Note: I used /pages/artikel.php in this example because that was in the "problem" page that spida reported. For other site, use whatever link is your news/blog page.

That will fix it.

Ruud

Offline spida

  • Posts: 203
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #48 on: October 28, 2008, 04:25:04 PM »
@Ruud: Perfect! This works! Thank you so much, Ruud.

@Ton: the current news module in the addons directory?

Offline gemnb

  • Posts: 52
Re: Display a Blog menu
« Reply #49 on: October 28, 2008, 05:41:54 PM »
spida,
/modules/news/view.php

Regards,
Ton

 

postern-length