Author Topic: CKEditor - How to enable spell check  (Read 2645 times)

Offline Nicky

  • Posts: 94
  • Gender: Male
CKEditor - How to enable spell check
« on: February 04, 2020, 02:35:22 PM »
Hello Bakers,

CKEditor help - how to enable spell checking.


I changed this from false to true in these two lines shown below in bold, logged-out and restarted WB (v2.12.2 r379)



wb_ckconfig.js

config.browserConte xtMenuOnCtrl = true;

    config.basicEntitie s = true;

    config.entities = false;
/*
    config.scayt_autoSt artup = true;
*/



settings_config.js

config.browserConte xtMenuOnCtrl = true;

    config.basicEntitie s = true;

    config.entities = false;
/*
    config.scayt_autoSt artup = true;
*/


Other than spell checking, CKEditor works fine for me. But there is no spell check icon, button or toolbar.

I seem to remember spell check was enabled by default in early WB versions.

What else do I need to do to get spellcheck working? Could it be a server issue ?

Nicky


johnbroeckaert

  • Guest
Re: CKEditor - How to enable spell check
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2020, 08:08:30 PM »
try //   instead of /* in front of the line
so
Code: [Select]
// config.scayt_autoSt artup = true;

Offline Nicky

  • Posts: 94
  • Gender: Male
Re: CKEditor - How to enable spell check
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2020, 07:10:41 PM »
Thanks, I did try this,

  config.browserConte xtMenuOnCtrl = true;

    config.basicEntitie s = true;

    config.entities = false;
/*
// config.scayt_autoSt artup = true;
*/

and did the same with the wb version on the same line as in my original post. No change. Tried Chrome, FF, Opera, and Edge.

 

Offline dbs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 8803
  • Gender: Male
  • tioz4ever
    • WebsiteBaker - jQuery-Plugins - Module - Droplets - Tests
Re: CKEditor - How to enable spell check
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2020, 07:34:24 AM »
Hello, in PHP
Code: [Select]
<?php
this
/*
    config.scayt_autoSt artup = true;
*/

this
/*
// config.scayt_autoSt artup = true;
*/

and this
// config.scayt_autoSt artup = true;
do all the same. It comments out the code, make it unusable.
(the space in Startup is a forum bug)

I think the spellcheck ist not implemented for reasons.
To use it you need also the right plugin in ckeditor/ckeditor/plugins/
Maybe wsv or scayt are the right ones, but do they work with this ckeditor version?
Next is, edit the ckeditor/include.php. Add wsv or scayt to the allowed plugins in line 166 ($ckeditor->config['extraPlugins']).
Next is, contains your toolbar the right placeholder for the plugin?

You see, it is not so easy.

Offline Luisehahne

  • WebsiteBaker Org e.V.
  • **
  • Posts: 4532
  • Gender: Male
Re: CKEditor - How to enable spell check
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2020, 09:03:17 AM »

I think the spellcheck ist not implemented for reasons.
To use it you need also the right plugin in ckeditor/ckeditor/plugins/
Maybe wsv or scayt are the right ones, but do they work with this ckeditor version?
Next is, edit the ckeditor/include.php. Add wsv or scayt to the allowed plugins in line 166 ($ckeditor->config['extraPlugins']).
Next is, contains your toolbar the right placeholder for the plugin?


The reason to remove some plugins was to limit the package zip size  to max 2MB

Dietmar
Note: Once the code has been generated, it is easy to debug. It's not a bug, it's a feature!

Offline Nicky

  • Posts: 94
  • Gender: Male
Re: CKEditor - How to enable spell check
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2020, 04:37:18 PM »
Way too complicated for me to fix. I did try this though -

Quote
Next is, edit the ckeditor/include.php. Add wsv or scayt to the allowed plugins in line 166 ($ckeditor->config['extraPlugins']).

but all my pages' WYSIWYG & source markup disappeared (which returned after I restored the original include.php).

So, I'll stick with using a browser spell checker I guess...

But thanks for looking at this.

Offline dbs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 8803
  • Gender: Male
  • tioz4ever
    • WebsiteBaker - jQuery-Plugins - Module - Droplets - Tests
Re: CKEditor - How to enable spell check
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2020, 06:41:33 PM »
It was not a list of possible steps.
All steps are needed.
Therefore
Quote
You see, it is not so easy.

 

postern-length