Author Topic: Under Construction  (Read 343 times)

Offline Don

  • Posts: 79
Under Construction
« on: February 02, 2020, 05:21:35 AM »
I am a real newbie technically and this has to be a very basic problem I am sure, but it is driving me crazy.  I have just made 3 new pages into a relatively new install of WB 2.12. There was a little content there previously. Two pages are just a couple of images in each and the third is a download module.  All of the pages appeared to be working well.  The download module views and downloads files very well.

I exited the application to try it all. I clicked on the URL and received an "Under Construction" notice.  This is a great feature, but I have no idea how to turn it off now that I can use these three pages.

I have looked at all the settings and I am going in circles as it must have escaped me.  I did not see anything that controlled the Under Construction page.  But there is the Maintenance lock at the top of the Admin panel but that seems to show locked when the padlock is open and vice versa.  Either way, clicking on this and logging out does not seem to affect the problem.

I have Win10, use Firefox and FileZilla.  I clear cache and history between attempts.  I have made one new Group and two users in that Group.

Can anyone find me a solution before I go crazy?

With many thanks.

Don

Offline hgs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 1276
    • EFG MG
Re: Under Construction
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2020, 05:57:25 AM »
Hallo Don
Kannst du uns einen Link geben?

Wenn ich es richtig verstanden habe, hat alles funktioniert als du im Backend angemeldet warst, ist das richtig?

Welche WebstitBaker Version hast du genau installiert und mit welcher php Version?

Dieses verhalten zeigt WebsiteBaker wenn es frisch installiert wurde und es noch keine Seite für die Webseite gibt, oder wenn WebsiteBaker in der Sprache z.B. "deutsch" installiert wurde und die Seiten in einer anderen Sprache erstellt wurde.
Im Beispielbild ganz rechts ist die Sprache der Seiten zu sehen

google translate

Hello Don
Can you give us a link?

If I understood it correctly, everything worked when you were logged in to the backend, is that correct?

Which version of WebstitBaker do you have installed and which php version?

WebsiteBaker shows this behavior if it has just been installed and there is no page for the website yet, or if WebsiteBaker in the language e.g. "German" was installed and the pages were created in another language.
The language of the pages can be seen in the example on the far right
LG Harald

"Fange nie an, aufzuhören - höre nie auf, anzufangen." Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.)

Offline Don

  • Posts: 79
Re: Under Construction
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2020, 09:06:59 PM »
Thanks for fast reply:

Link is https://donwall.ca

php version is 7.2

WB version is 2.12.0

There is an upgrade script in my folder.  I cannot remember if I ran this script or not.  I think it would be deleted if I did.  I will try this.

And I do get a different "construction sign" when I unlock the maintenance lock on the Admin page.  One says Under Construction the other when unlocked says Temporarily down.

I checked language and it appears to be fine.

I wonder if I upgraded it may reset things to normal.


Offline Don

  • Posts: 79
Re: Under Construction
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2020, 09:59:30 PM »
I upgraded to version 2.12.2 (r379).  Very smooth, worked well.  Nice work.  Now I have  this:

"This website has no pages for this language (EN) yet." 

So I think you are correct in that there appears to be a language conflict here.  I thought i installed EN, but perhaps my settings are something else? 


Offline Don

  • Posts: 79
Re: Under Construction
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2020, 10:33:13 PM »
OK I have an idea it has something to do with Visibility and the way I am using the options.  I have one page (Page 1)  which is marked Public and that displays.  This page is, essentially, the Home page.  The other two pages are Private with only members of a Family group allowed to see them.  These pages are marked as Private.  They do not show until the users log in.  A sign-in is offered.

I think this is how it is supposed to work and the error is entirely my own for misunderstanding the use of this feature.  I may be right and I may have wasted your time, but I have upgraded and that worked really well.  So thanks for that.  And thanks for answering my plea for help I was chasing my own tail.

Offline hgs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 1276
    • EFG MG
Re: Under Construction
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2020, 09:35:18 AM »
The forum is exactly there to learn from each other. So all is well!
LG Harald

"Fange nie an, aufzuhören - höre nie auf, anzufangen." Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.)

Offline Don

  • Posts: 79
Re: Under Construction
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2020, 03:26:19 AM »
Yes, indeed we do.  Thanks a bunch for listening!   :-D

 

postern-length