Author Topic: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind  (Read 3333 times)

Offline phoenixques

  • Posts: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • New to WB so please be nice
NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« on: September 25, 2017, 09:37:24 PM »
PLEASE FORGIVE ME AND DONT FLAME ME

This is my first post, and I am in desperate need of some technical help, I have website baker 2.8 and now the non secure login issue is preventing me from loging into the Admin section, our site PhoenixQues.com is hosted by godaddy where the SQL database resides, I have reset the password under user MD5 and still cant gain access, I purchased an SSL certificate from Godaddy and it say applied on their end, but I dont know what to do on the website end. I AM SORRY if this is the wrong place but I am desperately in need of some help.
Thanks for whatever help you can lend to someone who is really new at this

Offline CodeALot

  • Posts: 430
  • Gender: Male
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2017, 09:50:10 PM »
Hold on, forget about the SSL for a bit. You don't need SSL to log into the admin section.
Did you use the "Forgotten your details" link? What happened? Did you receive a new password?
 
Here to help, be as clear as possible :)

Offline phoenixques

  • Posts: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • New to WB so please be nice
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2017, 09:58:12 PM »
First off thanks for the quick reply, I am hit with the connection not secure on chrome/firefox, saying not to enter a password because attackers can see it. But after going into the database and resetting the password I cant use my Phoenixques.com/admin page. I inherited this page for my org, but website baker is new to me.
Thanks for whatever help you can lend to someone who is really new at this

Offline CodeALot

  • Posts: 430
  • Gender: Male
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2017, 10:06:06 PM »
Forget about the rather 'hysterical' warning that your page would be unsafe. It's just your browser warning you that you're about to enter something like a password on a non-SSL page. Yes, SSL is best, but for now, let's gain access first.
 
Don't go into the database yet. First try the "Forgot your password?" link in the WebsiteBaker Admin-login page. Enter the e-mailaddress that belongs to the admin account (assuming that is your address :)  ) and you will receive a new password through e-mail.

Let me know if that worked.

Offline phoenixques

  • Posts: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • New to WB so please be nice
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2017, 11:27:06 PM »
Addresses are correct, and i have two different ones i used but no emails (N)
Thanks for whatever help you can lend to someone who is really new at this

Offline CodeALot

  • Posts: 430
  • Gender: Male
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2017, 11:39:55 PM »
Ok, go back into that database and look up what e-mail address is in the database for user 0 (admin). That, and only that e-mail address can be used to retrieve the admin password.
 
But hold on: what happens if you try to log on as admin, using the password that you manually MD5'd into the database? Does it say "password incorrect" or does it simply come back with the log on screen without any notices?

Offline phoenixques

  • Posts: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • New to WB so please be nice
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2017, 11:50:13 PM »
logon Username or password incorrect, but it is the one i reset in the database???
Thanks for whatever help you can lend to someone who is really new at this

Offline phoenixques

  • Posts: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • New to WB so please be nice
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2017, 11:52:17 PM »
and when i reset the password no worng password just Please enter your username and password below
Thanks for whatever help you can lend to someone who is really new at this

Offline CodeALot

  • Posts: 430
  • Gender: Male
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2017, 11:53:58 PM »
There may be an extra space or something else that is not 100% correct.
Back to option #1:
 
Go back into that database and look up what e-mail address is in the database for user 0 (admin). That, and only that e-mail address can be used to retrieve the admin password.

If that is not an e-mail address you have access to, change it (directly into the database) into an address you do have access to.
Then go back to yoursite/admin and use the "Forgot password"-option again.
 
You should get an e-mail from Website Baker with your new password.

Offline phoenixques

  • Posts: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • New to WB so please be nice
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2017, 12:00:31 AM »
UPDATE  `pquesdb`.`users` SET  `email` =  'reginaldjacksonsr@gmail.com' WHERE  `users`.`user_id` =1 LIMIT 1 ;
Thanks for whatever help you can lend to someone who is really new at this

Offline phoenixques

  • Posts: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • New to WB so please be nice
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #10 on: September 26, 2017, 12:07:22 AM »
no email as of yet to both of my known email addresses, it seems like my DB was hijacked and i can still access it.... :evil:
Thanks for whatever help you can lend to someone who is really new at this

Offline CodeALot

  • Posts: 430
  • Gender: Male
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #11 on: September 26, 2017, 12:12:15 AM »
There can not be "both of your e-mail addresses". There is only one e-mail address recorded in the database for user 0.
You have to look into the database, table USERS, find user 0 and check that the recorded e-mail address is yours.

Offline phoenixques

  • Posts: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • New to WB so please be nice
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #12 on: September 26, 2017, 12:24:53 AM »
I have two accounts with different email addresses, not two addresses for one account, and I dont have a user 0 account, i have a 1,2,5,6,7 but no 0 my admin account is 1???
Thanks for whatever help you can lend to someone who is really new at this

Offline hgs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 1110
    • EFG MG
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #13 on: September 26, 2017, 07:51:36 AM »
User id 1 is correct for the SuperAdmin, which is username because in the table. Default = admin, but this may have been changed during installation.

Do you have access to the database with mysqlAdmin?
If so, change the password entry directly in the database.
for example, for the password "admin" is the entry:
21232f297a57a5a7438 94a0e4a801fc3

Admin Edit: correct md5-hash
« Last Edit: September 26, 2017, 11:05:21 AM by jacobi22 »
LG Harald

"Fange nie an, aufzuhören - höre nie auf, anzufangen." Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.)

Offline jacobi22

  • Posts: 5842
  • Gender: Male
  • Support also via PM or EMail
    • Jacobi22
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #14 on: September 26, 2017, 10:51:47 AM »
additional info:
- the database field "user_id" is set as autoincrement, every id is unique in this table
- the database field "email" is a normale text field, it's possible, to use the same mail adress in the database for multiple users, when you change this directly in your database, but: the wb-code  check this field, so, if you try to use the same mailadress in your backend (like profile settings) it#s not possible
- password is md5-encrypted - use a generator like this or this to encrypt your password

to SSL: normalize it's enough (if you have a certificate), if you change the WB_URL in the file config.php in wb-root-folder (from http to https), but not sure,if its work in the old version WB 2.8. Pls check the versions number behind (Backend - right upper corner / database table settings -> wb-version or in file admin / interface / versions.php
P.S.: see post from CodeALot: it's not needed, to have SSL for the login into the backend, but all browsers sends now secure warnings for pages with forms, it you dont have real SSL there

Quote from: hgs
for example, for the password "admin" is the entry:
210cf7aa5e2682c9c9d 4511f88fe2789

sure???   :wink:
Probleme sind da, um sie zu lösen, nicht, um nach Ausreden zu suchen.

Offline hgs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 1110
    • EFG MG
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #15 on: September 26, 2017, 11:02:03 AM »
Quote
sure???   :wink:

Sorry, Jacobi22 is right because there was still the wrong hash in memory.
The correct value is:
21232f297a57a5a7438 94a0e4a801fc3

Please delete the wrong value

Use this link to create your own hash
http://www.md5generator.de/
LG Harald

"Fange nie an, aufzuhören - höre nie auf, anzufangen." Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.)

Offline jacobi22

  • Posts: 5842
  • Gender: Male
  • Support also via PM or EMail
    • Jacobi22
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #16 on: September 26, 2017, 11:06:20 AM »
 (Y)

one more information, important, if the login into the backend is successfull
group_id for the super-Admin with User_ID == 1 must be also 1
group 1 has some specially permissions, more like a "simple" administrator

same for groups_id - must be = 1 - i'm not sure, if we use groups_id also in the actual wb-version, but it was in use in WB 2.8

active must be 1 - not possible to login for a inactive user
« Last Edit: September 26, 2017, 11:15:07 AM by jacobi22 »
Probleme sind da, um sie zu lösen, nicht, um nach Ausreden zu suchen.

Offline CodeALot

  • Posts: 430
  • Gender: Male
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #17 on: September 26, 2017, 01:44:19 PM »
I think he gave up.

Offline hgs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 1110
    • EFG MG
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #18 on: September 26, 2017, 03:19:26 PM »
Time shift, he sleeps :wink:
LG Harald

"Fange nie an, aufzuhören - höre nie auf, anzufangen." Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.)

Offline CodeALot

  • Posts: 430
  • Gender: Male
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #19 on: September 26, 2017, 03:58:15 PM »
Time shift, he sleeps :wink:
Hey now, we don't, so why should he? :)

Offline DarkViper

  • Forum administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3021
  • Gender: Female
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #20 on: September 26, 2017, 08:16:15 PM »
if he's from Phoenix Arizona (-9h from here)? He isn't online before lunchtime ;)
Der blaue Planet - er ist nicht unser Eigentum - wir haben ihn nur von unseren Nachkommen geliehen

"You have to take the men as they are… but you can not leave them like that !" :-P
Das tägliche Stoßgebet: Oh Herr, wirf Hirn vom Himmel !

Offline phoenixques

  • Posts: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • New to WB so please be nice
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #21 on: September 27, 2017, 04:44:17 AM »
Everyone thanks for your help, sorry i am moving houses right now, so there might be a little delay on trying your fixes, please bear with me...Thanks!
Thanks for whatever help you can lend to someone who is really new at this

Offline phoenixques

  • Posts: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • New to WB so please be nice
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #22 on: September 29, 2017, 02:55:00 AM »
so iuse 21232f297a57a5a7438 94a0e4a801fc3 for the password in the database do i select md5 or not, and once i do that what password am using to login as admin? sorry if I sound like an idiot, i got some paypal if anyone wants to remote in and help me (not much tho)
Thanks for whatever help you can lend to someone who is really new at this

Offline hgs

  • Betatester
  • **
  • Posts: 1110
    • EFG MG
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #23 on: September 29, 2017, 08:12:09 AM »
so iuse 21232f297a57a5a7438 94a0e4a801fc3 for the password in the database do i select md5 or not,...
In the database, the password is md5 hash value. You do not have to choose anything, but an md5 hash value you know in the database

As an example here is the hash value for the password:
Code: [Select]
admin = md5 hash value:
Code: [Select]
210cf7aa5e2682c9c9d4511f88fe2789
Or create a hash value with a password of your choice.
Quote
Use this link to create your own hash
http://www.md5generator.de/

If you do not get it right, send me a pn with the access data for your porvider godaddy.

LG Harald

"Fange nie an, aufzuhören - höre nie auf, anzufangen." Marcus Tullius Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.)

Offline jacobi22

  • Posts: 5842
  • Gender: Male
  • Support also via PM or EMail
    • Jacobi22
Re: NEW User needs Alot of help getting out of a bind
« Reply #24 on: September 29, 2017, 12:34:33 PM »
everything is difficult to understand for a newbie, i try it in simple words

- go into your database for WB and there to the table "users" - maybe, you use a Table-Prefix in the front of every tablename, default Prefix is wb_, so look for database "wb_users"
- search for the user with user_id == 1, you need from this line the username
- check in the same line the mail-adress in field "email" - is it the right mailadress for you? if not, change it with a double click, use a mailadress, where you have access
- now the password, it is md5-encrypted in your database, but you need also the non-encrypted word for the input in the login-window. use one of the links from our last post, to open the online-encrypter. for the first test, use a simple password, because, i'm not sure about the allowed chars in your old wb-version. for example: you insert the password "admin" and get the md5-hash 21232f297a57a5a7438 94a0e4a801fc3
use Copy&paste and insert this hash into the database

important: all datas (username, password, mailadress) are case-sensitive

now go to the login-mask for the wb-backend, use the username from the database and the password in clear letters. for example, if your md5-hash is 21232f297a57a5a7438 94a0e4a801fc3, use admin as password

now it has to work

possible problems: the emailsettings in wb-option are incorrect or the mailer in your wb-version are too old, so it's not possible, to set a new password via link "password forgotten?"

additional info: if you use the password-forgotten-link, the script generate a randow password and send this to the user via mail. if the mail function is not work, (wrong mailadress, mailer problem etc) - the password in the database is changed
Probleme sind da, um sie zu lösen, nicht, um nach Ausreden zu suchen.