Author Topic: 'Overdrive' template from combosa.com - anyone using it?  (Read 3977 times)

Offline seanie_morris

  • Posts: 287
  • Gender: Male
'Overdrive' template from combosa.com - anyone using it?
« on: July 06, 2016, 03:11:19 PM »
Hi there,

I purchased the 'Overdrive' responsive template from combosa.com :: http://shop.combosa.com/WebsiteBaker-Templates/Overdrive::207.html :: and I have a few quirks and problems I would like to run by anyone else who has used it. Unfortunately, there is no support for templates help on that site - an error 404 page is what I get when I click on 'Support' from the link I pasted here. Any helpers out there?


Regards,

Seanie.

Offline Gast

  • Posts: 5920
Re: 'Overdrive' template from combosa.com - anyone using it?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2016, 03:41:17 PM »
 i know, that the shop-owner has change in the end of last year. have you try the adresses from the imprint?

for us.. its of course possible to fix it, but not without code. maybe you can post some error messages and/or sreenshots with the problem's
normalize you have in every error message the filename and line of the broken function

Offline seanie_morris

  • Posts: 287
  • Gender: Male
Re: 'Overdrive' template from combosa.com - anyone using it?
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2016, 06:03:42 PM »
maybe you can post some error messages and/or sreenshots with the problem's
normalize you have in every error message the filename and line of the broken function

I can do that, I just didn't want to be totally lazy!

Firstly, when you look at the demo page of the website (point A):
http://shop.combosa.com/templatedemos/overdrive-html/index.html

And look at my under construction site (point B):
www.pixelthis.ie/wb

you'll notice that the slides and slide controls will not show. I made sure the links are correct, and even swapped out the <?php echo TEMPLATE_DIR; ?> for the actual web address. Keep in mind that the demo link is using HTML, so the code differences to bring in the slides are:

point A (uses HTML):
Code: [Select]
<div id="infobox">
<div class="relative container">
<div id="slides">
<img src="slider/1.png" alt=""/>
<img src="slider/2.png" alt=""/>
<img src="slider/3.png" alt=""/>
<img src="slider/4.png" alt=""/>
</div>
</div>
</div>


point B (uses PHP):
Code: [Select]
<?php
$seitenname 
PAGE_TITLE;
if (
$seitenname == "Home") {
echo 
'<div id="infobox">
<div class="relative container">
<div id="slides">
<img src="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/slider/1.png" alt=""/>
<img src="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/slider/2.png" alt=""/>
<img src="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/slider/3.png" alt=""/>
<img src="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/slider/4.png" alt=""/>
</div>
</div>
</div>'
;
}
else {
 echo 
'<div id="content_2">';
 echo 
page_content(2);
 echo 
'</div>';
};
?>



All code in index.php up to the Breadcrumbs is:
Code: [Select]
<?php

if(!defined('WB_URL')) {
header('http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/index.php');
exit(0);
}

?>

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">
<head>
    <title><?php page_title(); ?> | <?php echo WEBSITE_TITLE?></title>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=<?php 
echo 
defined('DEFAULT_CHARSET') ? DEFAULT_CHARSET 'utf-8'?>
" />
<meta name="description" content="<?php page_description(); ?>" />
<meta name="keywords" content="<?php page_keywords(); ?>" />
    <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1, maximum-scale=1"/>
    <meta name="robots" content="index,follow" />
    <meta name="language" content="de" />
    <meta name="page-topic" content="" />
    <meta name="distribution" content="global" />
    <meta name="revisit-after" content="7" />
    <meta name="author" content="Xyz" />


    <link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/images/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
   
   
    <!-- Include CSS -->
    <link href="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/css/style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" />
    <link href="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/css/menu.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" />
    <link href="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/editor.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="all" />
    <link href="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/css/prettyPhoto.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" />

    <!-- Include Scripts -->
   <script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/js/jquery-v1.8.3.js"></script>
   <script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/js/custom.js"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/js/modernizr-2.0.6.min.js"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/js/jquery.prettyPhoto.js"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/js/jquery.slides.min.js"></script>

   
    <!-- Include Website Baker Scripts -->
    <?php 
  
if (function_exists('register_frontend_modfiles')) {
    
register_frontend_modfiles('css');
    
register_frontend_modfiles('js');
  } 
?>

  <!--[if IE 8]>
<style>
    .col {float: left; margin-bottom: 30px;margin-left: 0%;margin-right: 2.0%;}.grid4 .col {width: 21.4%;}.grid3 .col {width: 31.2%;}.grid2 .col {width: 45.4%;}
    #infobox {margin-top: 0px;}.search_submit {margin: 0 6px 0 -5px;}
    </style>
<![endif]-->
    <!--[if IE 7]>
<style>
    .col {float: left; margin-bottom: 30px;margin-left: 0%;margin-right: 2.0%;}.grid4 .col {width: 21.4%;}.grid3 .col {width: 31.2%;}.grid2 .col {width: 45.4%;}
    #infobox {margin-top: 0px;}.search_submit {margin: 0 6px 0 -5px;}
    </style>
<![endif]-->

</head>
<body>


<div id="container">

<div class="title">
<div id="logo"><a href="<?php echo WB_URL?>"><img src="<?php echo TEMPLATE_DIR?>/images/logo.png" alt="logo" width="320" height="200" border="0" /></a> </div>
<div id="search_box">
<?php if(SHOW_SEARCH) { ?>
<form name="search" action="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/search/index.php'; ?>" method="get">
<input type="text" name="string" class="search_string" id="search_string" value="Search..." onclick="this.value='';"/>
<input type="submit" name="submit" value="" class="search_submit" id="search_submit" />
</form>
<?php ?>
</div><!-- end searchbox -->
</div><!-- end title -->


<div class="wrapper">
<a id="touch-menu" class="mobile-menu" href="#">Menu</a>
<div class="nav">
<?php show_menu2(0SM2_ROOTSM2_ALLSM2_ALL'<li><a href="[url]" class="[class]">[menu_title]</a>'"</li>"'<ul class="sub-menu" class="ullev[level]">'"</ul>"true'<ul class="menu">');?>
</div><!-- ende nav -->
</div><!-- ende wrapper -->


<?php
$seitenname 
PAGE_TITLE;
if (
$seitenname == "Home") {
echo 
'<div id="infobox">
<div class="relative container">
<div id="slides">
<img src="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/slider/1.png" alt=""/>
<img src="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/slider/2.png" alt=""/>
<img src="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/slider/3.png" alt=""/>
<img src="http://www.pixelthis.ie/wb/templates/overdrive/slider/4.png" alt=""/>
</div>
</div>
</div>'
;
}
else {
 echo 
'<div id="content_2">';
 echo 
page_content(2);
 echo 
'</div>';
};
?>



<div id="breadcrumbs">     
<?php show_breadcrumbs(' &raquo; '0true, -1); ?>
</div><!-- ende breadcrumbs -->
<div class="clearfix"></div>



What do you think? Anything else you need?

Seanie.

Offline Ruud

  • Posts: 3660
  • Gender: Male
  • Do not use PM for help! Please use the forum!
    • Dev4Me - Professional WebsiteBaker Development
Re: 'Overdrive' template from combosa.com - anyone using it?
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2016, 11:03:21 PM »
You have a javascript error causing the slider not initializing.
Code: [Select]
Time: 6-7-2016 22:58:26
Error: TypeError: $(...).prettyPhoto is not a function
Source: http://pixelthis.ie/wb/
Line: 186

The reason (and solution) is the same as in this post

Offline seanie_morris

  • Posts: 287
  • Gender: Male
Re: 'Overdrive' template from combosa.com - anyone using it?
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2016, 09:03:32 PM »
You have a javascript error causing the slider not initializing.
Code: [Select]
Time: 6-7-2016 22:58:26
Error: TypeError: $(...).prettyPhoto is not a function
Source: http://pixelthis.ie/wb/
Line: 186

The reason (and solution) is the same as in this post

I never knew that, thank you for the link, and it worked, all I had to do in the admin backend was:

Admin Tools > Output Filter Frontend v1.0.0 > Deselect (uncheck) FrontendJs, Jquery, Scriptvars, and SnippetJs > Click 'Save'.

It's working now. Thanks Ruud (and jacobi22)!

Seanie.

Offline seanie_morris

  • Posts: 287
  • Gender: Male
Re: 'Overdrive' template from combosa.com - anyone using it?
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2016, 04:56:51 PM »
Slider Question

I have another question on the Overdrive template.

The following code activates the slider in the infobox place holder, but just on the page entitled "Home":

Code: [Select]
<?php
$sitename 
PAGE_TITLE;
if (
$sitename == "Home") {
echo 
'<div id="infobox">
<div class="relative container">
<div id="slides">
<img src="../overdrive/slider/1.png" alt=""/>
<img src="../overdrive/slider/2.png" alt=""/>
<img src="../overdrive/slider/3.png" alt=""/>
<img src="../overdrive/slider/4.png" alt=""/>
</div>
</div>
</div>'
;
}
else {
 echo 
'<div id="content_2">';
 echo 
page_content(2);
 echo 
'</div>';
};
?>

How do I add additional pages to be included? I tried if ($sitename == "Home","Contact") and other variations, but I can't crack it. Repeating the whole code segment, changing "Home" to the other page(s) name(s), and removing the else argument works, but it also adds a couple rows of a white space between header and slider holder.

Would it also make sense to use page ID (PAGE_ID ??) instead? Just to be neater, instead of long threads of page names (some of which are 2 and 3 words long, based on the website's menu).

Seanie.

Offline Gast

  • Posts: 5920
Re: 'Overdrive' template from combosa.com - anyone using it?
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2016, 08:17:13 PM »
Use this

Code: [Select]
if (($sitename == "Home") || ($sitename == "Contact")){
Quote
Would it also make sense to use page ID (PAGE_ID ??) instead? Just to be neater, instead of long threads of page names (some of which are 2 and 3 words long, based on the website's menu).

a Page_ID is a Page_ID, its shorter and unique. the code in the top is a solution for 1-3 pages. if you use another variant of this code, its work for all pages, but not on home or contact

Code: [Select]
if (($sitename != "Home") || ($sitename != "Contact")){
if you need more pages, its better to use a shorter select, maybe with in_array like

Code: [Select]
<?php  // for colored code only
$sMySliderID = array(1,2,4,7,9);  // all needed PAGE_ID for the slider
if (in_array(PAGE_ID$sMySliderID)) {
?>


« Last Edit: July 13, 2016, 08:31:42 PM by jacobi22 »

Offline seanie_morris

  • Posts: 287
  • Gender: Male
Re: 'Overdrive' template from combosa.com - anyone using it?
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2016, 09:08:43 PM »
Spot on Jacobi, that worked a treat (the first option), thanks!

Seanie.

Offline seanie_morris

  • Posts: 287
  • Gender: Male
Re: 'Overdrive' template from combosa.com - anyone using it?
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2016, 09:00:06 PM »
I have another idea about using the slider...

Is it possible to create different sliders according to desired pages? At the moment, the code shown relates to just a single slider with the same images appearing on the desired pages. I know that I could in theory just duplicate the template (overdriveA, overdriveB, and so on) and apply the template to the page in question, but there are the obvious drawbacks, such as when I need to edit the template, I need to edit all the copies of it.

Seanie.