Author Topic: About 2.8.1 RC 2  (Read 3564 times)

instantflorian

  • Guest
About 2.8.1 RC 2
« on: January 18, 2010, 11:17:47 AM »
Hi,

thanks for improving WB 2.8.

I don't know if this is the right place for it, but I've got some annotations about the backend of 2.8.1 RC 2:

- on a wide screen, the positions of the WB logo, the function buttons and the revision information look a little bit strange, because the width of table in the header ist still only 900 pixel
- the space for entering the short text of news is too small (due to the lots of functions of FCKE)
- the new added function for selecting the parent page directly in the list of pages is quite usable, but the "+"-icon on the right side should be replaced. It's not very usable to use the same icon for different functions.
There are several nice icons in the famfamfam icon set which could be used instead

Other icons and the screenshots see http://test.meerwinck.com/wb281/pages/screenshots.php


FCKE features:
- at the modifyed "Image options" dialogue of the FCK Editor (image link) the input field for the link target should be bigger; if you add a css class, this will not occur in the frontend
- the icon for "image button" (form) and "add image" are the same, this is not very usable 

Regards

-instantflorian.

Waldschwein

  • Guest
Re: About 2.8.1 RC 2
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2010, 11:33:47 AM »
Hello!

Yes, I can absolutely say the FCKEditor is in this "static" height not very comfortable usable. Due to the 9x0 px width the height is not really fitting to the width.
Suggestion: Either adjust the static height in the template or (better one...) use the JQuery script (Bianca spoke about it...) in Core and default you can adjust the position of FCKeditor as you want.

Another thing: I open yet a ticket some weeks ago http://project.websitebaker2.org/ticket/888 but the YUI is still the same outdated version, and you get very, very nasty errors in IE8 when using Drag&Drop. The YUI package yui_280r4_wb281_new readme.zip there is really usable as it is and at least gets rid of the error with making the whole IE8 unusable...

Yours Michael

Offline Luisehahne

  • WebsiteBaker Org e.V.
  • **
  • Posts: 4333
  • Gender: Male
    • Webdesign und Entwicklung WebsiteBaker
Re: About 2.8.1 RC 2
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2010, 12:03:08 PM »
call the initialize.php in framwork folder, and set the constant EDITOR_WIDTH to 0, to get the width settings by modules. May be later to set it in backend settings

Dietmar
Immer nur von der Zukunft reden, die Gegenwart vergessen und auf die Vergangenheit schimpfen
Neues Unwort: Schnappatmung

Offline Argos

  • Posts: 2542
  • Gender: Male
    • Argos Media
Re: About 2.8.1 RC 2
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2010, 06:28:32 PM »
Not really a solution to the problems mentioned, but you could use the argos_theme backend for better usability. Although IE8 does some weird stuff with the column width of the settings page there. I'm working on an update for RC3 (or Final?), that has bug fixes and other improvements.
Jurgen Nijhuis
Argos Media
Heiloo, The Netherlands
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please don't request personal support, use the forums!

Offline tiggerific

  • Posts: 34
Re: About 2.8.1 RC 2
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2010, 04:42:15 PM »
Ahh... I was just thinking about you :) well, not you in particular.

I use your Argos back-end theme for all new client sites since you have made it available (thank-you). It's clean and professional, and the media section is great.

I have just now submitted a feature request regarding the display of the Menu Name or number in the Page Tree. Perhaps this can be done with just template changes? Here's my feature request:

http://project.websitebaker2.org/ticket/929


Offline kweitzel

  • WebsiteBaker Org e.V.
  • **
  • Posts: 6983
  • Gender: Male
Re: About 2.8.1 RC 2
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2010, 04:46:32 PM »
Hi,

thanks for this, is ist by any chance possible to get the sample code you used in your implementation?

You should be able to post it inline (use the Code Block feature) or attach it to this ticket.

cheers

Klaus

Offline Argos

  • Posts: 2542
  • Gender: Male
    • Argos Media
Re: About 2.8.1 RC 2
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2010, 04:49:23 PM »
@tiggerific : that's a nice idea, I will have a look if I can create that (thanks for the compliment, by the way!).
@kweitzel : I'm not sure what you mean and who you are talking to  :roll:
« Last Edit: January 29, 2010, 04:58:07 PM by Argos »
Jurgen Nijhuis
Argos Media
Heiloo, The Netherlands
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please don't request personal support, use the forums!

Offline kweitzel

  • WebsiteBaker Org e.V.
  • **
  • Posts: 6983
  • Gender: Male
Re: About 2.8.1 RC 2
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2010, 05:16:36 PM »
@kweitzel : I'm not sure what you mean and who you are talking to  :roll:

it was a direct reply to the post above mine ... also copied in the ticket ;-)

cheers

Klaus

Offline Argos

  • Posts: 2542
  • Gender: Male
    • Argos Media
Re: About 2.8.1 RC 2
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2010, 05:26:28 PM »
Ah! I overlooked the "made the modification myself" part in his request ticket... Yes, that part is not that difficult to show I guess. Dividing the menus is harder, but would be cool.
Jurgen Nijhuis
Argos Media
Heiloo, The Netherlands
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please don't request personal support, use the forums!

instantflorian

  • Guest
Re: About 2.8.1 RC 2
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2010, 10:04:37 AM »
Hm... this kind of ordering reminds me very strong to Joomla.
I would prefer not to change the default core of WB in that way.
Maybe this could be a special backend template or addon, sth. in that way.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2010, 10:55:54 AM by Argos »

Offline Argos

  • Posts: 2542
  • Gender: Male
    • Argos Media
Re: About 2.8.1 RC 2
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2010, 11:00:32 AM »
Hm... this kind of ordering reminds me very strong to Joomla.
I would prefer not to change the default core of WB in that way.
Maybe this could be a special backend template or addon, sth. in that way.

The Joomla menu setup is much more complex than WB. WB cannot link a page to more than 1 menu, so that poses a problem I didn't think of before. What to do with child pages that belong to another menu than their parent? Now they are shown in the tree under their parent, but if a backend tree is not the same as a site menu, you would have a problem. Do you show the "technical" tree, or the menu tree? Hm... it may be more complex than it looked at first sight. I think we should leave it at showing the menu name or menu ID, and not visually divide the tree into menus.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2010, 11:08:24 AM by Argos »
Jurgen Nijhuis
Argos Media
Heiloo, The Netherlands
----------------------------------------------------------------
Please don't request personal support, use the forums!