WebsiteBaker Community Forum

General Community => Off-Topic => Topic started by: nicole2292 on October 29, 2008, 12:18:53 AM

Title: Help with Allcss2 dropdown menu
Post by: nicole2292 on October 29, 2008, 12:18:53 AM
Hi All,

I'm am working on a site based around the template "Allcss2 (v2.6, 02/16/2007) with drop-downs".

However I just need to make one small change which I can't seem to manage.

Please view my site here: http://dev.visionfactordesign.com/gardenhurst/ (http://dev.visionfactordesign.com/gardenhurst/)

All I want to do is make the background colour on the "functions" button stay white while the user is hovering on the drop-down menu. Seems simple enough, however I can't figure it out.

All help greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Nicole
Title: Re: Help with Allcss2 dropdown menu
Post by: bgg on October 29, 2008, 10:34:16 AM
u need to use a javascript based solution for that.
ls check this site, whr i m now working on
Code: [Select]
ww2.chsj.org
Title: Re: Help with Allcss2 dropdown menu
Post by: mr-fan on October 29, 2008, 06:52:19 PM
bgg please use the hyperlink button (3rd from the left side) to make a link to a site!
 not the code button...... :wink:

thanks
Title: Re: Help with Allcss2 dropdown menu
Post by: vyni on October 30, 2008, 01:41:56 AM
Hi Nicole,

simply add a line like

#nav li.menu-parent a    {background: #fff; color: #5ff; border-bottom: 1px solid #000;}

to Your css-file.
This will solve Your problem


regards from Himberg, nearby Vienna
Title: Re: Help with Allcss2 dropdown menu
Post by: nicole2292 on November 05, 2008, 04:52:15 AM
Hi Vyni,

Thanks for the suggestion, the thing is the class "menu-parent" is not present unless you are actually on one the the child pages. As this menu operates using hover the class needs to be present at all times wherever you are currently in the site.

Thanks anyway,
Nicole
Title: Re: Help with Allcss2 dropdown menu
Post by: vyni on November 05, 2008, 05:57:14 AM
Just to make it clear:

You want the menu working as it now works. just the button function You want to be white - all the time - regardless wich state - if mouseover or not - if is parent or not - if it is current or not ?

In that case I would add an unique class to the menu. Than You can control each button separately, every stage of it too.
this is an example
Code: [Select]
show_menu2(1,SM2_ROOT,SM2_ALL,SM2_ALL,'<li><a href="[url]" class="[class] butt[sib]">[menu_title]</a>','</li>','<ul>','</ul>',false,'<ul class="adxm menu">');
this adds a unique class like butt1, butt2, butt3 to each menu-button - find out the number of the Function-button (look in source-code) and add this class to Your css-file.

regards from Himberg