WebsiteBaker Community Forum

WebsiteBaker Support (2.8.x) => Templates, Menus & Design => Topic started by: xoanon on January 25, 2010, 02:57:06 AM

Title: show_menu2 and IE8 compatability issue
Post by: xoanon on January 25, 2010, 02:57:06 AM
Hi,
I use the current code for show_menu2 and have no problems with IE6/7, Firefox etc. However when IE8 is used the compatability button needs to be pressed else the whole screen looks strange..
Please have a look at the code and let me know of any corrections...

<div class="navbar">
    <ul>
     <?php show_menu2(0, SM2_ROOT+1, SM2_ALL, SM2_ALL,'<li>[a][menu_title]
            [if(class==menu-expand){<!--[if IE 7]><!--></a><!--<![endif]--><!--[if lte IE 6]><table><tr><td><![endif]--><ul>}]
            [if(class!=menu-expand){</a>}]
            [if(class!=menu-last){</li>}]
            [if(class==menu-last){</li></ul><!--[if lte IE 6]></td></tr></table></a><![endif]-->}]','','',''); ?>
   </ul>


ps. the original template is multiflex-5n, and the link is http://gvaa.eu/wb (http://gvaa.eu/wb) or http://www.gvaa.eu (http://www.gvaa.eu)

thanks in advance
tony
Title: Re: show_menu2 and IE8 compatability issue
Post by: Argos on January 25, 2010, 03:11:31 AM
The solution lies in he CSS probably, not in the show_menu2. So maybe you can give us an URL to see what's happening.
Title: Re: show_menu2 and IE8 compatability issue
Post by: xoanon on January 25, 2010, 03:17:02 AM
just amended the original post...

>>> the original template is multiflex-5n,   and the link is http://gvaa.eu/wb (http://gvaa.eu/wb)    or   http://www.gvaa.eu (http://www.gvaa.eu)  (currently am in the process of upgrading them to WB 2.8 and run them from two different service providers...)
Title: Re: show_menu2 and IE8 compatability issue
Post by: Argos on January 25, 2010, 03:31:09 AM
According to IE8 you have at least 2 javascript errors:

URI: http://www.morphis.id.au/wb/modules/wysiwyg_slider/frontend.js
URI: http://www.morphis.id.au/wb/pages/js/dd-drop/dddropdownpanel.js

But you load so much script before the menu that I'm not surprised there are conflicts. Look for the source of the trouble in these scripts, not in showmenu2.

IE8 is rather picky (and buggy sometimes), but maybe adding the line
Code: [Select]
<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7">right under the "Content-Type" statement in your index.php HEAD, will make it behave better. But your template code has still quite a collection of all kinds of scripts... You'd better use jQuery for the effects you want to achieve.
Title: Re: show_menu2 and IE8 compatability issue
Post by: xoanon on January 25, 2010, 04:38:12 AM
the two script errors removed !! but the compatibility issue continues...
Title: Re: show_menu2 and IE8 compatability issue
Post by: Argos on January 25, 2010, 04:46:12 AM
Nope, my IE8 has no errrors anymore, and shows the menu. So problem solved... Or did the IE=EmulateIE7 do the trick? I see you added that line.
Title: Re: show_menu2 and IE8 compatability issue
Post by: xoanon on January 26, 2010, 08:13:18 AM
thanks for the suggestions - ARGOS
regards
Tony