WebsiteBaker Community Forum

WebsiteBaker Support (2.8.x) => Templates, Menus & Design => Topic started by: ocline on April 03, 2009, 01:55:07 PM

Title: Inconsistence between FF and IE when using showmenu2 with td and img
Post by: ocline on April 03, 2009, 01:55:07 PM

Hi guys,

I've ran into a problem using showmenu2 on my site. Everything were just great till I have looked at the page in IE7.

Need your advise, is it possible to use showmenu2 with table layout so that background image inside td cell wouldn't shift with white spaces appearing on the image borders if viewed in IE. However it looks fine in FF.

showmenu2 was configured as follows :

Code: [Select]
<?php show_menu2(0SM2_ROOTSM2_STARTSM2_ALL,&#39;<td class="[class]">[a][menu_title]</a><td class="separator"><img src="&#39;.TEMPLATE_DIR.&#39;/img/m_s.png"/>&#39;,&#39;</td>&#39;, &#39;<tr class="topMenu"><td style="padding: 0px;"><img src="&#39;.TEMPLATE_DIR.&#39;/img/m_l.png" />&#39;, &#39;<td width="100%"/><td style="padding: 0px;"><img src="&#39;.TEMPLATE_DIR.&#39;/img/m_r.png" /></tr>&#39;, &#39;&#39;); ?>

Screenshots are attached.

Thanks.


[gelöscht durch Administrator]
Title: Re: Inconsistence between FF and IE when using showmenu2 with td and img
Post by: marathoner on April 03, 2009, 04:02:35 PM
I this that this has nothing to do with showmenu2. The problem is that FF and IE 7 render the CSS differently. You might want to play with your CSS and check some of the IE 7 hacks to address the rendering problem.
Title: Re: Inconsistence between FF and IE when using showmenu2 with td and img
Post by: Ruud on April 03, 2009, 04:09:48 PM
just a wild guess..

start your css with:

Code: [Select]
* { margin:0; padding:0; }

That often helps in margin problems between FF and IE

Ruud
Title: Re: Inconsistence between FF and IE when using showmenu2 with td and img
Post by: ocline on April 03, 2009, 04:24:22 PM


*  { margin:0; padding:0; } doesn't solve it.

Could it be that showmenu2 adds and extra space or other symbol into the output and that inside the <td> tag causes all that shifting?
Title: Re: Inconsistence between FF and IE when using showmenu2 with td and img
Post by: Ruud on April 03, 2009, 04:41:32 PM
Show_menu2 does not know anything about browsers, the same for WebsiteBaker. For all they care you could be looking with your motorcycle. The same data will be send every time.

If you give a link to the site you are working on it might be that someone could give more tips, although the general rule is that you should ask CSS related questions on CSS forums and not on this forum.

As another option, use Google to search for "CSS IE FF (http://www.google.nl/search?q=CSS+IE+FF)". It will give you 700.000 results.

Ruud
Title: Re: Inconsistence between FF and IE when using showmenu2 with td and img
Post by: ocline on April 04, 2009, 02:59:36 PM
Guys

That was CSS case indeed, height of <tr> was set implicitly, has just corrected css and now the page is fine.

Many thanks for your help.